1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

what services do i need

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by kh060, Apr 10, 2008.

1. kh060

kh060 New Member

Ok there is a sticky on what service you need and dont but i am still not very good at this stuff. Can someone please let me know using that the sticky's #1-8

I bought my prius year 2004 at about 56k miles and now i have 155k miles on it. I have been driving it about 160 miles total a day 5 days a week to go to work and back and will keep on doing it for another year and a half. I have been doing just the oil changes and thats it. Should i do all #1-8 or just some, i dont know. Thanks

2. JimN

JimN Let the games begin!

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    I'm not a mechanic but 1,3 & 4 sound prudent based on your mileage.

3. Patrick Wong

Patrick Wong DIY Enthusiast

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I would add #7, the PCV valve, if this has not been recently changed. If the original is still installed, I am sure that it is plugged by now.

I would suggest cleaning the throttle body/throttle plate if you have driveability issues. If not, then that would be OK to defer.

4. galaxee

galaxee mostly benevolent

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    1, 3, 4, and 7 for sure. it's time to change out your fluids and a PCV is very cheap insurance.

next time you get some new tires for it, do 2 and 8. the rear brake clean/adjust will be cheaper when they've already taken those wheels off for something else. and you always want to align your wheels with new tires.

if the throttle seems sticky, then throttle cleaner is probably worth it. otherwise skip it.

5. Patrick Wong

Patrick Wong DIY Enthusiast

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Now that we've discussed items 1-8 from Galaxee's sticky list, lets add a few items not on that list for your consideration:
    • Replace iridium spark plugs