1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

What to put first in a fuel economy spreadsheet?

Discussion in 'Gen 4 Prius Fuel Economy' started by davran, Apr 8, 2019.

1. davran

davran Member

Vehicle:
    2019 Prius
    Model:
    Base AWD-e
    All,

A few weeks ago got my first Prius: a 2019 awd LE.

I've never done a fuel-economy spreadsheet before. On the first line, do I assume that that the dealer truly filled the tank, estimate what the price was, and call it a full first tank? Then, record my fills?
    That's what I've done, and was wondering if that is incorrect.

Thanks,

Dave

2. fuzzy1

fuzzy1 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    It is entirely up to you. There is no single 'correct' way.

For tracking MPG, many of us urge new Prius drivers to ignore that first maybe-full, maybe-partial, nobody-really-knows first tank. Start tracking when you personally fill it up. But no one is auditing it, so do as you wish.

davran likes this.
  3. schja01

schja01 One of very few in Chicagoland

Vehicle:
    2018 Prius
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    First thing I did was stop at a gasoline station on my way home.
    Tried adding fuel to the tank but it was in fact full.
    That was my starting point.

fuzzy1 likes this.
  4. Prodigyplace

Prodigyplace Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Welcome & congrats!

You have a Gen 4 Prius, not the plugin Prime. @jerrymildred has done a lot of spreadsheet work on Priuus, PiP & Prime. Perhaps he can share some tips.

5. jerrymildred

jerrymildred Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Congratulations. There are lots of mileage tracking apps that make it super easy. But a spreadsheet offers the ability to do more stuff with your data.