1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

What to watch out for while picking up the car from the dealership?

Discussion in 'Prime Main Forum (2017-2022)' started by pandu, Apr 26, 2018.

1. pandu

pandu New Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    Hello all, Will be traveling to NJ next week to pick up new 2017 Prius prime from dealership.

I am new to hybrids/plugin cars, any tips on what to watch out for?

I guess I have to make sure to take the electric charging cable. Anything else I need to look for?

Thanks in advance.

I am hoping that the drive back to TX will be fun.Excited to join the Prius family

2. crewdog

crewdog Acting Ensign Prius Prime

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Congrats, welcome and great choice.

I'd make sure all the bells and whistles work; charge scheduler, Safety Connect (if u have it), and all the other systems and switches.

On a long trip from NJ to TX, running the tire pressure up to 42 front/40 rear is a technique many hyper-milers use to squeeze more mpg out. It's a stiffer ride, but it helps.

Perhaps overlooked, go have a conversastion with service manager at your home dealer and make sure they have a master tech who is able to repair and work on the Prime; not all Toyota dealer service depts are created equal. You may have to find another dealer who has a good shop.

3. RRxing

RRxing Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    Limited
    Congratulations on your purchase! It shouldn't be an issue with a new car, but be sure to get two key fobs before leaving the dealership, and make sure they both work.

Mendel Leisk and scona like this.
  4. huskers

huskers Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Call ahead and make sure they have the car with a full charge ready for you.

(There are a couple threads on this topic somewhere here.)

5. Lucifer