1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

What's your house really worth?

Discussion in 'Fred's House of Pancakes' started by JackDodge, Mar 5, 2007.

1. JackDodge

JackDodge Gold Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    http://www.zillow.com

The realtors claim that the site is 10 to 20% off in it's estimates but I've found it to be pretty accurate for my own situation. It doesn't list a lot of areas yet but if it lists yours, it gives you a great idea of what your house or the house you're looking to buy is worth.

2. jimmyrose

jimmyrose Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(JackDodge @ Mar 5 2007, 09:15 AM) [snapback]400264[/snapback]</div>
    I'm a Realtor. Zillow is anywhere from the percentages you give and higher off the mark on some properties;oOn others, it's can be pretty accurate. Question is, how do you know which group your property fits into? In my area, 10 to 20% can equal anywhere from $30,000 to $200,000!

They do not have access to the information a Realtor has to do a comparative market analysis, nor is there any "experience" when pricing a property correctly; they base their figures primarily on the tax records of recently sold houses (that may not even compare to yours). If your neighborhood is comprised of very similar dwellings (as in the case of a large development, townhouse/condo complexes, etc.), then if there is enough recent turnover, their data will be fairly accurate.

FSBO's tend to nationally sell much less that Realtor-assisted sales. Other properties are sold within families for far less than the market would bear. There are foreclosures, etc.. All of these and more (like seller concessions at closing) can provide less than realistic prices, but on the tax records, all you get is the final number - which may not give you the "value" of the property.