1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

When Driving on Battery Should engine come on?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by chett, Aug 7, 2006.

1. chett

chett New Member

I am a newbie so bear with me. When I came to a complete stop, I decided to try to run on the battery to my destination which was about 1/8 a mile of straight road. I wanted to see how it ran on just battery. When I put it in B, I noticed that I was not getting 99MPH, but more like my regular MPG when I accelerate with it in regular drive. The engine was still running. This is the second time it has happened, because this is the second time I have tried to drive it on just battery. Is this normal?
    Thanks

2. john1701a

john1701a Prius Guru

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    First, that "B" does not mean battery. Unfortunately, many salespeople are still spreading that incorrect information. It actually means "Engine Braking", which is entirely different.

As for how long/far you can drive using only electricity, that is primarily determined by how much you draw from the battery-pack. 10kW is the tolerance. Exceeding that causes the engine to start and join in. The same is true when the charge-level drops below about half too.

Also, if heat is needed for either the cabin or the emissions system, the engine will start back up regardless of electric draw.

So yes, that was normal.

3. chett

chett New Member

You are right - I WAS told that it was where you could drive just on battery. So, if the "B" is for engine braking what does that mean exactly and why or when would it be appropriate to use it? Thanks so much for your response
    Chris

4. Betelgeuse

Betelgeuse Active Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A