1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Where do you take your car for service or repair work?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by mrspeedybob, Dec 10, 2008.

1. mrspeedybob

mrspeedybob New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    I am a service technician at an independent auto repair shop. I have noticed that there are many Priuses and other hybrids on the road in my area but I never see them in my shop for repairs.

To those with a Prius that is out of warrenty, where do you take it when there is a problem? Dealer? Fix it yourself? Other?

The reason I'm asking is that I am considering buying an older one so that when the Priuses and other hybrids do start rolling in I will be the tech most familiar with it and can bank on some lucrative work. In order to decide if this is a good plan I'd like to know why we aren't seeing them already. I know they are pretty reliable, but they can't be perfect and so far I have worked on none.

2. galaxee

galaxee mostly benevolent

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    not much lucrative work to be had unless there's a major failure or an accident repair. maintenance is basically oil changes, tire rotations, the occasional trans fluid change, that kind of thing. the occasional problem does crop up- but they're fairly rare.

of course, prius owners do appreciate a tech who understands/appreciates a prius. my husband was the first employee at the dealership to buy one and he had a huge prius customer base.

3. Rae Vynn

Rae Vynn Artist In Residence

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Mine is still in warranty, but I would make a few guesses for you.
    Basic service, i.e., oil changes, can be done by anyone. You might pick up some of that business.
    Engine/HSD/battery issues: with Toyota's track record of "assistance" even for out-of-warranty Prius, it's a no-brainer to take a Prius to a certified Toyota shop.