1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Where does a Prius begin and end?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by genalex, Apr 14, 2006.

1. genalex

genalex Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    I've been driving this car for ten months now and when I back up to park, I find that I've left enough room for the trunk of my old Camry. Trying to find the front and back limits of the Prius body seems somewhat challenging. I'd appreciate hearing from experts what cues you use to avoid dinging other cars when jockeying into a tight space as well as backing up all the way without coming too close to the edge in parking decks, etc. :eek:

2. auricchio

auricchio Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Why not tape a stick to the rear bumper? Get a 2-foot stick, tape it vertically to the back bumper, and drive around with it for a couple of weeks. Soon you'll know where the back of the car is without the stick. That's when you remove it.

3. Tideland Prius

Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    For reverse parking with a wall behind:

reverse until you see the reverse light reflections on the wall cross each other. You then can procede "a bit more". That bit more is what you have to figure out. I just guessimate.

For forward parking:
    Your left foot on the dead pedal is roughly where your left front wheel is. Your leading edge isn't that much farther than the front wheels so use your left foot as a guide.

Reverse parking without a wall:
    I use the right mirror. I park the car the way I want, then tilt the mirror down such that when I reverse and glance at the mirror, when the painted line disappears from the mirror, I'm in. The downside is that you can't use the right mirror and thus have to shoulder check more carefully when changing lanes to the right.

4. hobbit

hobbit Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A