1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Where to mount your GPS in 2011 Prius?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Accessories and Modifications' started by MacArthur, Dec 4, 2011.

1. MacArthur

MacArthur Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    II
    newbie here. Just got my 2011 Prius for 2 weeks. Love it, except couldn't figure out how to mount my Garmin GPS.

I did go through all the previous posts of similar topic, but couldn't find a satisfactory answer. Here are the reasons:

1) I want to mount my GPS HIGH, so that no need to move my sight away from road too much. I can't go with those "Cup-Holder Mount" or the ProClip mount aside the cup holder, which are way too low for me. Whenever you bend your head down to look at GPS, you are prone to accident.

2) Preferably mount on top of the dash, somewhere next to the MID. Used to have a Vent Mount. But the problem with 2011 Prius is that, the vent grill is too thick, and too deep. The old vent mount works great on my previous car just won't click on the 2011 Prius.

3) With the Gen III redesign, the dashboard layout is totally different to Gen II. I appreciate all of those who post their pictures of GPS mount solution, that should have been very helpful, unfortunately won't apply to Gen III dash. I just want to know how to mount it in a Gen III Prius.

Any advice is appreciated. Thanks!

2. MacArthur

MacArthur Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I've also tried with the suction cup mount, to fix it at the bottom of the windshield. Because of the aero-dynamic design of the contour of wind shield, it's so far away that I might need a binocular to see the GPS...

So suction cup mount is no use too... I guess...

3. zyx345

zyx345 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
  4. dustoff003

dustoff003 Blizzard Brigade #003

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Five