1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Why the Prius is absolutely amazing

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by bsoft, Apr 10, 2006.

1. bsoft

bsoft New Member

I've been lurking around PriusChat for over two years now, reading all the info that I could find and trying to learn as much as possible about the Prius.

Let me introduce myself - I'm an engineering student at the University of Colorado, though I'm not a 'hippie', at least not in the traditional sense. My father is a EE, and I'm majoring in ECE, so you can see why the Prius has a certain attraction. I believe in environmentalism, but not at any cost - I believe that engineering is the only real solution to our environmental problems, which is why I'm so supportive of technologies like next-generation nuclear reactors (e.g. pebble bed), high-efficency HVAC and other building controls, co-generation (the University of Colorado produces 37MW of electric power and uses the waste steam to heat buildings), and, of course, advanced vehicles like the Prius.

As an ECE, I'm the kind of person who will be engineering things like the Prius. EEs work on electronic systems, CS majors work on software, ECEs work on software that deals with hardware (firmware).

The Prius is so amazing because it represents the future of the vehicle as we know it. The pundits like to tout HSD as "expensive", but from a systems engineering perspective it is a system that is simpler, less wear prone, and, ultimately, less expensive than a conventional transmission. Torque converters, clutches, and syncromeshes all share manufacturing complexity that simply does not exist in HSD. HSD also manages to replace the alternator, starter, and complex power steering systems that are common on vehicles today.