1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Winter Handling

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by Lola'05, Oct 27, 2005.

1. Lola'05

Lola'05 New Member

I am new to the game. Took delivery of Lola in July. I need some input from seasoned Prius owners who have dealt with bad winter weather. How do these little darlings handle in the snow? :unsure:

2. fishertheband

fishertheband New Member

Mine is terrible. (Sorry to say) The instant the right front tire slips, it cuts all power to the wheel. I pretty much park it and drive a volvo AWD when it snows here in the mountains north of L.A..

I was really starting to wonder what the reaction will be this coming winter when people find out the cars are just not made for ice and snow.

3. Lola'05

Lola'05 New Member

That is bad news. But now I am glad that I kept Greenie, an older 4 wheel drive Explorer. He got me everywhere, no matter the weather. No car payments, so I kept him for the winter. I do love both of them.

4. SW03ES

SW03ES Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Actually I was really impressed with ours last year. As with any car its just not going to be effective over 5 inches or so because of ground clearance, but I actually chose to drive the Prius over the Lexus in the snow last year, both FWD, both VSC.

I mean, its no SUV, but it'll get you where you're going.

5. deh2k

deh2k New Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Mine was fine last winter. I recommend a getting a good set of snow tires.

6. Tideland Prius

Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    A good set of winter tyres should do the trick. It rarely snows where I live so I'm okay with the stock tyres. I'm sure those with snowier climates will say otherwise.

7. afternoonnap

afternoonnap New Member