Wiring Diagram for Factory Nav Radio - looking for wires that feed(Energy Consumption and Trip info)

Discussion in 'Prius c Audio and Electronics' started by wmo168, Apr 16, 2013.

  1. PriusC_Commuter

    PriusC_Commuter Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    914
    306
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles/ Orange County, CA
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Now that I finished paying off my C, I might finally get around to buying a used head unit and working on this upgrade, and reading through to see if someone has documented how to get the energy consumption and trip info with clear pictures.
     
  2. SamanthaC0716

    SamanthaC0716 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    333
    115
    0
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    Confirming that this one works! I had to slice off a very small part of the pink plastic connector. It then plugged in nicely. It's very obvious to see what needs to be removed when you look at the connector and the spot for it in the back of the radio. It's the top part of the pink connector, and I used a box cutter. It cut very cleanly.

    Now, I have the antenna on top of the headunit in the dash, and my reception is crap. It cuts out constantly, so I may need to actually run this to the roof. That'll be annoying. I have my GPS antenna on top of the headunit in the dash, and it works perfectly. (And I have the two antennas more than 3 inches apart...)


    iPhone ?

    It seems the antenna for XM is far more sensitive than the GPS antenna. The GPS antenna works perfectly from on top of the headunit. The XM antenna cut out frequently when in the same location. I moved the XM antenna to the front middle of the dash, over where the speedometer displays. It's working pretty good there!


    iPhone ?

    Final resting place for the XM antenna...

    IMG_3707.JPG IMG_3709.JPG


    iPhone ?
     
    RobAustin and PriusC_Commuter like this.
  3. Jay Morris

    Jay Morris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    2
    0
    0
    Location:
    Long Beach ,ca
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    One
    Thanks for your wonderful discovery but, Can someone just draw this out on simple drafting paper please.
    Not so difficult youd think?
    One block connection on the back of the stereo.You have 3 new seperate wires going from three pins from this block to 3 connections in the car= 2 pins and 1 you are taping a wire in the car.


    Running 3 new wires all separate .
    1 goes from junction from car to a connection on back of Stereo. 2nd cable same , goes from junction from car to a connection on back of stereo. Then 3rd cable is tapping into a cable on the control box from the car to the connection on back of stereo.

    Question is ?does 1rst cable from junction pin 5 goto G78-9 or G78-10 on the back of stereo?this is were you are not clear? Which is it ?
     
  4. me_go_fast

    me_go_fast Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    2
    0
    0
    Location:
    Illinois
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    Tim, I am having the same problem as you, I actually have a 2014 c2 as well. I also have the blue wire already in 17. I found out it does get the speed as if I go into the diagnostics I can see the cars speed when driving (and I thought the speed was for the gps and not the car info). Did you ever get the problem resolved?
     
  5. Tim Lillis

    Tim Lillis Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2016
    36
    9
    0
    Location:
    Grand rapids
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius c
    Model:
    One
    no i gave up because of a reverse camera issue and switched to a corolla radio. Thinking about trying again as more info was posted about the reverse tap needing to use ACC/IGN instead of typical reverse tap. Did you get anywhere?
     
  6. Koolfreak

    Koolfreak Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    59
    19
    0
    Location:
    St-Rosaire, Québec, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    Ok, I read all the threads about upgrading audio in Prius C 2 to Prius C 3. The radio I brought don't have the Y wiring harness. I tried to buy one directly from the toyota dealer, but the part: PT296-47120-AB is not available in Canada. I contacted Toyota Canada directly, and the said this wiring harness are not available because Entune are not in function in Canada. I brought a Canadian radio, and the entune module are present under the radio. Is the pt296-47120-ab Y wiring harness only control Entune? Or it is controlling GPS navigation too?
     
  7. Koolfreak

    Koolfreak Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    59
    19
    0
    Location:
    St-Rosaire, Québec, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    Ok... then, the module controls GPS too.

    I have plugged all the wires... and all work but GPS and car info. For car info, I can't find the images to explain whick wire I must add? Is anyone have these photo or clean explanation?
     
  8. Koolfreak

    Koolfreak Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    59
    19
    0
    Location:
    St-Rosaire, Québec, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    I have identified G78 -9, G78-10 and G78-27 with images. I tried to indentify the Junction connector -5 and -16 based on the G78 harness image. When I start the car, I have multiple errors on dash.

    If someone have the image of this connector to identify which pins is the -5 and -16... and in the same time, the G66 connector.

    Thanx
     
  9. Mike4kz

    Mike4kz Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2018
    20
    7
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    Thank you all for these posts. I just ordered a navigation unit on eBay. Also orderes "third party" GPS antenna for about $15.

    Have a question - on some listings the "head unit" has smaller body, about 2/3 of 2DIN space. And in some cases (I ordered this one) there is another "sandwitch unit" with Y-cable. What's the difference? Is that "enTune module"?

    Another question - do cars have "harnesses" for "extra features"? For example, I have "trim two". Does it have a wires, for example, for a backup camera, smart key sensors, etc.?
     
  10. Leadfoot J. McCoalroller

    Leadfoot J. McCoalroller Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2018
    4,887
    4,811
    1
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    Some cars are pre-wired for every feature in every trim, others get a different harness per trim per destination market. I don't know how they decide which ones get which treatment, but I assume there is a cost/benefit analysis behind each one. There is waste involved in wiring millions of cars for features they'll never support, and there is also waste in distributing and warehousing inventory for 17 different versions of the same part.

    I don't know which way Toyota went on these, but when I recently replaced the head unit in our c I didn't see much in the way of unused wiring back there.
     
    Mike4kz likes this.
  11. PriusC_Commuter

    PriusC_Commuter Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    914
    306
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles/ Orange County, CA
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    I recently purchased the trim 3/4 head unit and did the upgrade, but unfortunately got one with a bad Entune unit (it would freeze and couldn't open any of the apps). Luckily the seller was SUPER cool and let me return it. I'm still on the hunt for another one. It was a very straightforward swap. Make sure the usb/aux cable goes into the bottom (the gracenote extension box).
     
  12. dubit

    dubit Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    849
    536
    23
    Location:
    Indiana
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    Before you go through all that trouble, here's an option that simply mirrors your cellphone to your factory headunit for $250.00.

    Beat-Sonic IF-02AEP Smartphone Mirroring Kit

    Granted it's only "mirroring" so any app you may want to use would require you to call up Siri / Cortana or whatever the Android people may use. But that's just a push of one button and then telling Siri / Cortona what to do.

    I can actually say that I've seen this in action. It's pretty darn good and a fantastically cheap workaround for a whole new radio or headunit replacement. Basically, it's your cellphone on your dash. Yes - it works while driving down the road, so any navigation app you may use on your phone will display actively on the display of your radio.

    Downside: you lose the ability to use the AUX jack.


    FYI - these guys sell all sorts of neat things for your car. Want a camera in the front of your car? They've got a wiring harness for it. :)
     
  13. Mike4kz

    Mike4kz Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2018
    20
    7
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    Got the unit (still waiting for GPS antenna). Installation was piece of cake. Generally it works... However there are a few notes...

    1. I tried to run applications in Entune... They start, try to connect to the phone, but after a few seconds fail.
    2. I installed Entune 3.0 on my iPhone. However it seems that my head unit is 2.0. Are they compatible?
    3. With just a "one-to-one" swap, I connected all cables from regular "audio unit" to a "navigation multimedia unit". However when I plug an USB flash drive, nothing happens. When I try to select "Sources", USB is grayed out.

    I didn't try to connect TechStream yet, may be will get more options... Plus, will disassemble it when GPS antenna arrives.
     
    RobAustin likes this.
  14. Mike4kz

    Mike4kz Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2018
    20
    7
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    Updates...

    1. Figured out a problem with USB. Both units ("display unit" and "entune") have the same gray USB jack. The harness should be connected to the "expansion module".

    IMG_0193[1].JPG

    2. Found a "gray jack" (junction box??) with 22 pins above the glove box compartment. There was a "dummy plug" connected, and it seems like whole row of plugs is just shorten. Should it be like that?

    IMG_0208[1].JPG
    IMG_0212[1].JPG
    3. Question on PDF file (headunit wiring). There are plug/jack listed at the end. Some of them looks exactly the same. Are they the same jacks or there are multiple instances of the similar looking jacks (especially that "junction box jack)?
     
    RobAustin likes this.
  15. Mike4kz

    Mike4kz Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2018
    20
    7
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    Guys... Where are you getting a "donor pins" for any additional connections? I gave up... Found quite a few different "plugs" (female jacks), pulled "connectors" from there... Nothing reaches. For "junction box" I'm about to just "tap" into existing wires, since nothing I have reaches "rakes". However cannot find anything to get to 22P (pin 9 & 10). Who used what?
     
  16. Shahsafi

    Shahsafi Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2019
    11
    1
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Hello there, I am trying to install this touch screen stereo into my 2011 Prius 2. I need guidance. which plug do what and how to ready the wire color code, for example what the wires do. I mean red yellow etc. the stereo come on but no sound out.
     
  17. PriusC_Commuter

    PriusC_Commuter Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    914
    306
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles/ Orange County, CA
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    This thread is for 2012-2015 Prius C.
     
  18. turbodudey

    turbodudey New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2020
    2
    4
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    II
    I know this thread is quite old, I just wanted to leave some info here for posterity.

    I just finished installing the Entune/Navigation touch screen radio (faceplate # 100023) in a 2012 C2. The info in the thread was very helpful in getting everything wired up and functioning. Thanks. I added a backup camera at the same time.

    There was just one bit of info missing that made it a bit tricky. I hooked up #9 and #10 pins on the 28 pin connector for the CAN bus, as well as the #2 pin for the reverse signal (VSS was already present for me on pin #17), but my backup cam and car/hybrid info was still not working. I tried everything I could think of, but no dice. Here was the missing bit to make it work:

    The radio needed switched 12v on pin #1 of the 28 pin connector. With pin #1 connected, the backup camera would be displayed when in reverse, and the hybrid car info from the CAN bus also showed up.

    Now everything is working: all the radio functions, Bluetooth, GPS/navigation, hybrid info, backup camera, Entune apps, etc...

    I hope this may help someone in the future.
     
  19. RobAustin

    RobAustin Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018
    104
    51
    0
    Location:
    Austin, tx
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    One
    I just bought a 100023 head unit from salvage and wil try the install this weekend.

    It's my understanding that it's plugin plug for a 2012 C1 ?

    Rob
     
  20. RobAustin

    RobAustin Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018
    104
    51
    0
    Location:
    Austin, tx
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    One
    It was plug and play in the c1. Very nice.
    ($100 at salvage / 1 hour in the driveway)

    A few details:
    1) I got the GPS antenna with the head unit.
    2) I got the jumper cable from the head unit to the bottom unit / And I was carefully to plug the USB in to the bottom unit (thank you)

    I will still need to order parts:
    to use the XM-radio "no signal check antenna"
    BACKUP CAMERA = ( wiring harness, camera, install with wiring to pins? )

    Fyi :
    The 4 bolts: you need a 10mm socket with an extension or a (magnetic) Philip's head screwdriver

    If you want to use the Entune ( data link) :
    You will NEED the VIN number of a donor c3/c4 to register the Entune App.

    I will report back.

    Rob
     
    #80 RobAustin, Jan 28, 2021
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2021
Loading...