XM Installation instructions

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by mgundel, Feb 25, 2007.

  1. mgundel

    mgundel Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    57
    2
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Finally broke down and ordered the Toyota XM kit from Metro TPN and wanted to pass along some simplified install instructions to anyone who may want to tackle this. I started by using the instructions linked HERE and quickly realized they are not completely accurate for an 06 (and probably an 07). I logged into Toyota Info Services and was able to get the official instructions which require much less dash disassembly and a very secure install placement of the receiver. I don't see any copyright info on the document so I thought I would share it.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. svbb

    svbb New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    27
    0
    0
    Great post, thank you!
     
  3. CheapChic

    CheapChic New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    40
    0
    0
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Martin Gundel @ Feb 25 2007, 09:32 AM) [snapback]396172[/snapback]</div>
    hI
    I have an 07 with Navi. It is suppose to be XM ready. Is ther a different kit that is easier than this.
    thanks
     
  4. mgundel

    mgundel Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    57
    2
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(CheapChic @ Mar 1 2007, 10:11 AM) [snapback]398441[/snapback]</div>
    XM ready only means that the head unit will display the feed provided by an XM tuner (purchased separately). You'll need a satellite tuner, antenna and subscription to listen to satellite broadcasts. The install for this wasn't overly difficult. Once I got the right directions, it only took about an hour and a lot of that time was because I actually fed the antenna through the roof instead of onto the dashboard.
     
  5. PaladinSF

    PaladinSF New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    6
    0
    0
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(CheapChic @ Mar 1 2007, 07:11 AM) [snapback]398441[/snapback]</div>
    All the satellite radio installs present the same problems and some seem to work better than others. I just had the Toyota XM installed in my 07 by a dealer. It did not seem worth the grief to do the install myself. I works great. The only negative is that it does not show the artisit or title- it only shows the channel and genre. I guess I need a lock pick3.
     
  6. CheapChic

    CheapChic New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    40
    0
    0
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(PaladinSF @ Mar 1 2007, 11:20 PM) [snapback]398876[/snapback]</div>
    Hi
    Do you have the Navi ? No artist no title, I will get a portable with aux input instead
     
  7. efusco

    efusco Moderator Emeritus
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    19,890
    1,169
    9
    Location:
    Nixa, MO
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(PaladinSF @ Mar 1 2007, 10:20 PM) [snapback]398876[/snapback]</div>
    On the '04/'05 it shows the artist and title....in fact on the '06/'07 I believe it's supposed to show more characters than the prior version....If you hit the audio button, then touch the button for the channel you're listening to does it not bring up another page that shows the artist and title?
     
  8. scott.sutliff

    scott.sutliff New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    1
    0
    0
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(efusco @ Mar 2 2007, 10:10 AM) [snapback]399045[/snapback]</div>

    Thanks for the info. My salesperson at the dealer said there was NOT an XM package and told me to go to an electronics store for installation. If i am reading right, i could get a Toyota installed kit for XM.

    Correct?

    Thanks much.
     
  9. airliner53

    airliner53 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    17
    0
    0
    Thanks for the post!

    I printed out the instructions, and the first thing I noticed was that it says "Premium Audio/JBL required".

    I have the base radio ... No AM/SAT button ... just an AM button. I thought I remember reading somewhere that it will still work, that you will just use the AM button to access XM.

    Anyone know anything definitive on that issue? I would love to have XM!
     
  10. jobob

    jobob Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    5
    0
    0
    Hi airliner. I just got my base 2007 and the dealer put XM in it. As mentioned earlier, i only have an AM button, but after you push it, you have access to SAT1, SAT2, and SAT3. works great with the only problem being the 10 character limitation.
     
  11. airliner53

    airliner53 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    17
    0
    0
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(jobob @ Mar 6 2007, 12:34 AM) [snapback]400704[/snapback]</div>
    jobob -

    Thanks for the info ... by the way, did they install the antenna on the dash or on the roof?
     
  12. TonyM

    TonyM Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    16
    0
    0
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Martin Gundel @ Feb 25 2007, 08:32 AM) [snapback]396172[/snapback]</div>

    Martin,

    Thank you for the PDF file. I used it this morning to install my kit in my '07. Went off perfectly, had it installed in less than 1.5 hours.

    I'm amazed at how the dash is assembled..... :unsure:

    Thanks again, it made my install a snap and saved me the $ of having someone else do it.
     
  13. BethlehemPrius

    BethlehemPrius New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    180
    0
    0
    Location:
    Bethlehem, PA
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(PaladinSF @ Mar 2 2007, 01:20 AM) [snapback]398876[/snapback]</div>

    I had them install an XM unit in my car and it displayed the full artist and title, not sure why yours would not be showing it, but I would have them fix it.
     
  14. Darken

    Darken Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    553
    49
    0
    Location:
    PA Dutch Country
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    Great Post! Thanks! This seems like a lot less disassembly then the one I previously read. One would think these would apply to the 07 version as well, anyone know for sure?
     
Loading...