Yakima track installation

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Accessories & Modifications' started by darelldd, Jan 17, 2006.

  1. darelldd

    darelldd Prius is our Gas Guzzler

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    6,057
    384
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    After a search here, I don't see that anybody has attempted bolting Yakima tracks onto their Prius yet? I have learned that racks are considered more "cosmetic" than "performance" though. :)

    I love using tracks on my vehicles, and have done it on my last three. I would like to put tracks on the Prius as well, but would feel way more comfortable if somebody drills into *their* car before I drill into mine... I have already pioneered this process for my Rav4EV, and I'll show it here, just for reference (so people know what I'm talking about!)

    http://www.darelldd.com/ev/rav_rack.htm

    Any chance that anybody has done this already. Yakima advises me against it, as they did with the Rav4EV - which worked out great!
     
  2. Clar

    Clar Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    151
    2
    0
    Location:
    DC/MD/VA
    sorry, I got Q-Towers and Q-clips. Not brave enough to go w/ track system.

    I don't think my Prius wants me to drill holes on the roof. Heck, I don't even like docs stick needles in me.

    Do you think the roof of a prius is flat enough for it?
     
  3. darelldd

    darelldd Prius is our Gas Guzzler

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    6,057
    384
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Clar -

    I *like* drilling holes in expensive automobiles. :) No problem with the curved roof. I installed tracks on my Civic roof too, and it is more curved if anything. Heck, just makes the track stronger. Anyway, you used Q 124, I assume? Can you tell me what your max (or only) bar spread is with those clips/towers? I need to fit my Rocket Box on there like this (The roof doesn't look so curved in this shot, but it is!) I make the most out of my small sedans.

    [Broken External Image]:http://www.darelldd.com/ev/images/misc/fun/civic_suv.jpg
     
  4. Clar

    Clar Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    151
    2
    0
    Location:
    DC/MD/VA
    yeah, Q124.

    front towers: 41" between the towers.
    back towers: 40" between the towers.
    between front and back cross bar(measure from center): 30"
    from front window rubber seal to the edge of front towers: 8"

    I got a whole set(Q-Tower, clips, and ski rack) from http://www.orsracksdirect.com/ and I think the special package is still available. I haven't mount anything yet. The spec I gave you is from the documentation.
     
  5. darelldd

    darelldd Prius is our Gas Guzzler

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    6,057
    384
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Thanks tons for all the great info. I've ordered from those same guys and was quite happy with their service. It is that 30" bar spread that is most important to me. That is just *barely* enough, but will get the job done. I'm leaning more toward the clips/towers just to keep the bumps off the roof when the rack isn't on. I still don't like the idea of clips into the door seals, and the feet rubbing on the paint. That's always bugged me.
     
  6. altaskier

    altaskier New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    157
    1
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, New York
    Just make sure you check out the info given to emergency rescue people. If memory serves (but don't you trust my memory - after all, I don't either) the high voltage connection from the batteries in the back to the inverter in the front runs through the roof. If memory serves (same disclaimer) it runs up a door pillar and along one side of the roof, so it should not interfere with a track, but as carpenters say, "measure twice, cut once."
     
  7. darelldd

    darelldd Prius is our Gas Guzzler

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    6,057
    384
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Ya know... I'm definitely going to check that. It would surprise me if they ran the high voltage through the pillars. I see ZERO reason to do this, as it would be a shorter distance, and a safer location to run it along the bottom of the car. No worry about the jaws of life, etc. I've heard this "fear of high voltage" as a reason to be afraid of EVs and Hybrids for a while now. This is unfounded in EVs for sure, and I'm guessing it is the same for Hybrids.
     
  8. altaskier

    altaskier New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    157
    1
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, New York
    OK, I looked up the 2004 Prius emergency response guide. You're right - the high voltage cable runs along the bottom of the car rather than through the roof. And yes, the fearmongers out there don't realize that relays trip out the voltage on the cable if the airbags deploy, so it's not an electrical hazard in a crash.
     
  9. darelldd

    darelldd Prius is our Gas Guzzler

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    6,057
    384
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Thanks Altasckier. Good infor for us to have.

    You wouldn't believe how many people have told me they wouldn't feel safe in my EV because the rescue personnel would just leave me there to bleed out for fear of the high voltage. Good lord - are we THAT immune to the hazzards of gasoline spilled on the ground around hot engines after a serious crash?

    And in EVs it is the same way as the hybrids - the batteries are disconnected after a crash that is hard enough to deploy the air bags or belt pretensioners. And of course NO high voltage runs anywhere except under the car and into the under-hood area. And they're all shielded with bright "road hazzard" orange. Be tough to miss them.
     
  10. naterprius

    naterprius Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    1,843
    11
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Welcome, darrell! Yes, it's me, Nate, from the Rav4-EV group. Your'e in my stomping ground now!

    No, nobody here has drilled the roof to install the Yakima track. Trust me, I would have noticed.

    Nate
     
  11. darelldd

    darelldd Prius is our Gas Guzzler

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    6,057
    384
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Hey Nate! (hears the refrain from It's a Small World After All). Looks like I'm going full-bore Toyota here, so I'm glad you're around to keep tabs on things for me!

    Shouldn't be too much trouble to put the tracks on the Prius (will definitely have to check the curvature of the roof first). But I'm thinking more and more that I should just use traditional clip/tower mounts. Disadvantages and advantages both ways. Well, let me know if you hear of anybody attempting it!
     
  12. naterprius

    naterprius Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    1,843
    11
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Not to hijack the thread, but here are my mods:

    -Turn Signal Mirrors from Japan
    -Round shift knob that won't poke my knee
    -Reupholstered center armrest for more padding
    -XM radio (from Solara) with antenna INSIDE the spoiler (talk about cutting holes!
    -TPMS (Comes standard with the '06)
    -EV button (factory grade, from Japan)
    -Auto unlocking, then later locking after shutdown
    -Coastal Dave's auto lock at 15 MPH
    -5.1 Nav DVD in my 2004
    -Mudflaps from Canada
    -Aic-100i Ipod interface (with text!)
    -Headrests from a 2004 Highlander

    Coming soon:
    -Auto tilt mirror in reverse
    -More legroom (welding new seat brackets)
    -Better stereo (Amp + Subwoofer)

    I probably forgot a few, but not one of the items is "drilled holes in the roof." I think you will be the first!

    Nate
     
  13. darelldd

    darelldd Prius is our Gas Guzzler

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    6,057
    384
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    You and I are gonna have to talk about a few of those little items, Nate!
     
  14. naterprius

    naterprius Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    1,843
    11
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    I would just point you to my "How-To's" but most of them were lost with the many crashes at this site.

    I forgot to add:
    -Tinted glass, non-metallic to avoid interference
    -Removed the ugly wheel trim rings
    -Upgraded to Michelin Hydroedge Tires

    We'll be in touch if (when) you have questions.

    Nate
     
  15. darelldd

    darelldd Prius is our Gas Guzzler

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    6,057
    384
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Your "how-to's" didn't make it to the archives? Bummer!

    Could you do me a favor Nate, and drop me an email: [email protected]

    That way I don't have to dig up your email from the other list (hidden here, you secretive little bugger). Thanks!
     
  16. darelldd

    darelldd Prius is our Gas Guzzler

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    6,057
    384
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    I just got off the phone with our local rack installer (he did my first track installation, and I've done the rest) He says he's done about half a dozen Prius II's, so it most certainly IS possible to but the tracks up there.
     
  17. khoult

    khoult New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    20
    0
    0
    Location:
    Lexington, MA
    Have any of you mounted a Yakima rack with QTowers on a 2006 Prius?

    The Yakima website doesn't say if the Q124 clips fit the 2006. I even called
    Yakima, and the support guy didn't know... :eek:
     
  18. naterprius

    naterprius Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    1,843
    11
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    The roof and doors haven't changed for 2006, so it shouldn't be a problem.

    Nate
     
  19. darelldd

    darelldd Prius is our Gas Guzzler

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    6,057
    384
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Yeah, if it worked on the '04 and '05, it'll work on the '06. I talked to the Yakima folks as well, and they just don't want to "certify" that it'll work on any given car until they've actually tried it once. They have yet to see an '06 to try.

    I wouldn't worry - if it works for the previous two years, it'll work on this year's.
     
  20. khoult

    khoult New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    20
    0
    0
    Location:
    Lexington, MA
    Thanks! I suspected that was the answer, but figured I'd check with the pros :)
     
Loading...