1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Yet another HV thread (Gen 3 - Prolong, New Prius Batteries, new OEM?)

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by model464, Jul 18, 2020.

1. model464

model464 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2023 Prius Prime
    Model:
    SE
    Eager noob here! I recently bought "Orpheus," a 2010 with 160K miles. In the spirit of long-term investment, I bought him expecting to replace the HV battery at some point in exchange for keeping him 5-10 years. I'm lucky to live in range of Boulder Hybrids and discussed HV batteries with Paul while I had the car in for routine maintenance. According to him and Torque News, I'll get a P0A80 code if a cell block hits 30 milliohms of resistance or there's a voltage difference of 0.75V between blocks.

I already suspected my battery wasn't long for this world; I'm getting rapid SOC fluctuations on the road (how rapid is bad?), and the ICE has started kicking on and idling even when stopped / driving slowly with several battery bars left. (The battery doesn't lose charge overnight, though.) Accordingly, I got an OBD scanner and the Dr. Prius app and found 5 cell blocks at 29 milliohms and a voltage difference of 0.36V (screenshot attached).

After admittedly spotty research on PC and other places, I'm figuring these are my best options:

1. New OEM battery from Toyota -

1a. Installed by Boulder Hybrids. That's what Paul recommended, but he estimated $2800 for the battery and the job. That's a darn sight better than a dealer but I was hoping to do far better still.

1b. Bought and installed by me, if I can find one for sale. How would I avoid the core charge? Does that mean I just purchase the individual cells?

2. Use Hybrid Automotive's Prolong now for preventative rebalancing before the battery goes.