1. Offline

    Cattt New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I am not sure what kind of Prius I have. There is no MAP button on the dash. I was wondering if it was possible if there was a program I could install so I can have a GPS system.

    Help?
  2. Offline

    cwerdna Senior Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Posts:
    12,207
    Likes Received:
    1,881
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, CA
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
  3. Offline

    spinkao New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Posts:
    316
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Czech Republic, EU
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    This is not a software case - even the original Toyota nav system is a standalone unit (located under the driver's seat) and in your case it is simply not present. So this is not a case of installing some "program" to enable it.

    In my opinion, it is not worth bothering thying to install and integrate an aftermarket nav. Buy a standalone nav system, it will be a lot cheaper and simpler.

    It would be possible to somehow integrate an aftermarket nav so that you could see the map on the MFD, since even the "original" Toyota nav is a completely standalone unit, connected to the composite input of the MFD. But you would have to solve the wiring, a switch allowing you to select the composite input on your MFD, antenna and connection of your nav to the audio system, if you want to hear the instructions (this should be the easiest part - dunno if it is standard, but my Prius has an audio input connector in the center console).

    But still, you won't be able to use the touchscreen of the MFD, so you would still have to somehow solve the problem of the "user interface" to your nav. It would probably be possible to somehow hack the MFD to get the touchscreen to work with your aftermarket unit (there has to be some interface connecting it to the "original" Toyota unit), but I am afraid that this would be far too complicated.

    I believe there was a thread on this (how to integrate an aftermarket nav), I saw it somewhere in the past. Try to google around if you are interested.

    But in my opinion, it is not worth the effort. If you want to play around and hack your car and nav, then it is the right project for you - but if you want to simply use a nav, buy an external standalone unit and don't bother trying to integrate it.
  4. Offline

    cwerdna Senior Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Posts:
    12,207
    Likes Received:
    1,881
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, CA
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Also for reference, the cost of just a nav update DVD alone (for a car that already has all the hardware) exceeds the cost of many PNDs (portable navigation devices).
    1 people like this.
  5. Offline

    firepa63 Former Prius Owner

    Member Since:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,762
    Likes Received:
    197
    Your Vehicle Year:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Get a Garmin. You will be much happier.
  6. Offline

    Cattt New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A



    Thanks for the info spinkao. After reading I've realized that maybe a PND is the right choice. Thanks again for the answers guys!
  7. Offline

    Cattt New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Garmin versus TomTom

    Insight?
  8. Online

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Member Since:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    17,410
    Likes Received:
    2,750
    Location:
    boston
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    my 04 came with nav, i think the pkg was five grand but that was all they had and we were waiting a year for a car. i swear that thing couldn't find my backyard from my driveway.
    my 08 is the lowest package and i purchased the garmin nuvi 200 for $150. yes, it isn't integrated and you have to plug it into the outlet, but the thing is amazing. easy to punch in a destination and i havn't gotten bad directions yet. and a very nice 3D type of display although smaller than the built in but you can get a wide screen if you prefer.
  9. Offline

    cwerdna Senior Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Posts:
    12,207
    Likes Received:
    1,881
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, CA
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I would not buy TomTom's or any other PNDs that use TeleAtlas maps for navigation within the US. See http://priuschat.com/forums/gen-ii-...0-any-other-good-alternatives.html#post500527 as to why.

    I do have a Nuvi 350 now and received a Nuvi 1200 free from my bank awhile ago. I use it on my Z that has no nav and took the 1200 w/me when I went to Canada. The 1200 helped too since I hit a case of no such address or a totally wrong address in the Vancouver BC area on my 06 Prius' outdated map DVD.
    1 people like this.

Share This Page