1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2008 Prius used car questions (tail light, air vent, climate button)

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by beezer, May 11, 2014.

1. beezer

beezer Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Hello! I am loving these forums. Thanks for having me. I am new to the Prius world, as I recently purchased a 2008 Prius with 78,000 miles. Overall, the car appears to be in really good condition. There are a few "used car" quirks. Some I can handle easily - like a few paint chips on the hood. No problem. Others, I need some guidance.

1. There is a small hole in the "climate" button on the console. Not a huge deal, and the button works.
    Is there a place to buy a new button or does the entire console have to be replaced?

2. The "red light" of the back driver's side taillight is not coming on. It is the light that should turn on when you flip the lights on. The brake light world just fine. The bottom red light does not. I would prefer to do it myself - any pointers??

3. The air coming out of the far left (driver's side) is blowing considerable weaker than all the other vents. Everything else involving the air conditioning seems fine. Ideas?

All said and done ... these all seem like pretty minor things, but I want to take good care of this car. I appreciate any guidance. I have posted pics for you to get a better idea of what I am talking about. Thank you!

Attached Files:

2. Patrick Wong

Patrick Wong DIY Enthusiast

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    1. I believe you would have to replace the entire MFD (multifunction display) assembly.
    2. The taillight bulb is a standard incandescent size which you should be able to purchase at any discount auto parts store.