Check air condition connection!

Discussion in 'Gen II Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by dann707, Apr 24, 2012.

  1. dann707

    dann707 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    14
    2
    ca
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hello recently I change my stock stereo to an after market one n now mfd screen as the check air condition connection message on it so did some research n found out I have to change it out so went to a local yard and bought one and same message, changed it out for another one same thing so about five trys later so same thing! Is it possible that all those screen were broken or is there another problem goin on?
     
  2. nh7o

    nh7o Off grid since 1980

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    1,686
    297
    Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Yes, another problem going on.

    It sounds at first glance like the AVC-LAN (audio visual local area network) connections to the MFD are loose, not plugged in all the way, or not plugged in at all, after adding the new radio. The MFD connects to the Gateway ECU, the A/C amplifier, the radio, and the Nav unit. The connection to the Gateway ECU is the one that is not plugged in, or is not working. Double check to see if it is right.

    I doubt *all* those MFD's are not working. But this is a known problem. Take a look at Prius MFD where the nonworking bus connection to the Gateway ECU gets analyzed.
     
  3. tdelker

    tdelker Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
    46
    4
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    II
    This is an issue with an aftermarket stereo and the LAN in the car. It was connect to the factory stereo. Now that you've removed it, it gives an error. I believe you need a resistor added in to a cable harness. Someone here more knowledgeable than me will reply soon.
     
  4. nh7o

    nh7o Off grid since 1980

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    1,686
    297
    Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Ah so. If the after market stereo does *not* use the AVC-LAN, then leaving the previously used plug unterminated (open) will break the daisy chain. That plug will need to be jumpered to re-establish the loop with a small 68 ohm resistor. Try looking in the Audio and Electronics threads, which is where I found this:
    http://priuschat.com/forums/gen-ii-prius-audio-electronics/55179-68ohm-resistor.html .
     
  5. dann707

    dann707 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    14
    2
    ca
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Where do I hook up the resistors too? I double check and reconnected the stock radio an its diffinatly the after market radio but can't seem to figure out where n how to install the resistors?
     
  6. nh7o

    nh7o Off grid since 1980

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    1,686
    297
    Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    II
  7. dann707

    dann707 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    14
    2
    ca
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Thanks everyone for the feedback fixed it the resistor worked like magic! But now my problem is getting rid for the mfd screen that I bought thinking it was the problem...! If any one needs one I have one for sale please spread the word around trying to get rid of it ASAP I will ship and I also live in northern Cali so of anyone needs one up here we can meet up..thanks again everyone for your help..