1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Coolant Replacement Interval

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by eric1234, Oct 7, 2014.

1. eric1234

eric1234 Active Member

Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three

I know that there are a few good engineers here - so I'm just curious to see if anyone has any insight as to the coolant change interval.

Any good reason why (after the first change at 100k miles) - the following change intervals are 50k miles?

I just turned 100k, and plan on getting it done, but wonder if it will really be necessary to adopt a 50k interval subsequently. (I have a 2010 III, and drive about 25k per year).

As an engineer, I do understand that appearance of the fluid is no indication of it's ability to prevent corrosion, but (that said) my 4 year old fluid looks like new. Also, since the engine is more efficient, my guess is that the fluid is not subjected to the same temperature extremes as, say, in a high performance, turbo charged engine. Same goes for the inverter (from my perspective). - (even more so - actually, as I'd imagine that it's temperature swings are less extreme).

Am I off base? Any one with any good reasons why I should consider to change at 50k miles after the initial change?

Thanks.

2. exstudent

exstudent Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Drain & fill of the cooling system (ICE or Inverter) doesn't get rid of 100% of the existing coolant. The NEW coolant you are adding gets mixed in with the OLD coolant in the loop (ICE or Inverter); essentially the 10year/100K mile service life of NEW coolant is getting diluted.

On the Gen2 Prius, I believe the ICE loop capacity is 9 quarts. When I last drain/fill, only about 1.5 gallons came out (6 quarts), so 3 quarts remained.