1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Dealer says the Prius sells at sticker: No discount. True?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by jazzjunkysue, Jan 26, 2010.

1. jazzjunkysue

jazzjunkysue New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    I'm totally new to it all. Help!

2. Bob64

Bob64 Sapphire of the Blue Sky

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Depends on the demand in your area. Try all the dealers in the area. Have them compete against each other for your business.

say to car dealer 2 that car dealer 1 offers an "out the door" price of XXXX and can they beat that?
    Take that price to car dealer 3 and repeat until you've run out of dealers, then go back to the start until they can't play price mambo anymore. The winner is the one with the lowest price.

Always compare the out the door price.

1 person likes this.
  3. Malarkey

Malarkey New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Jazzjunkysue,

I *just* bought one, today, for under MSRP, here in Connecticut.

I went to Wallingford Toyota and dealt with Ron Jackson and Mike Cote. They were both helpful, no pressure, the starting offer was several hundred lower than MSRP and I was able to nudge it down a bit from there. They also had no surprise charges at signing. At one point I asked for all charges to be listed and he immediately complied - there was about $399 (taxable) for -all- of the various registration, documentation, etc.

I was paying about 40% cash, financing the rest. When asked, they beat the interest rate Capital One was giving me which also saves a few hundred over the life of the loan.

It was by far the smoothest car purchase I've ever made.

Very highly recommended. PM me if you're going to use them and I'll give you my name to mention.

4. CharlesJ

CharlesJ Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius