Welcome to PriusChat

We'd love to have you join our community and participate in the conversation! Sign up for FREE today.

1. TGB4 2014 Prius Convention Hotel Discounts are ending this week. Click for more information. All Access registration with personalized items ends Sept 1. Register now!

Gas tank question/problem with fuel/tank

Discussion in 'Gen II Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by jomo, Mar 20, 2012.

Social Buttons

1. jomo

jomo New Member

Your Vehicle Year:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hello: I am the proud owner of a 2004 Prius but I have no technical knowledge about autos. My husband of 30 years passed in December and he was a "car guy".

I basically have had no repairs on the vehicle except for a new windsheild and one other thing that was about $150.00 but can't remember what it was.

Yesterday, my fuel was down to 2 "notches" and while I was driving it went down to the last "notch" so I stopped for fuel. It would only take just under 2 gallons - the pump would stop and then I could only put it a tiny amount at a time so I finally stopped.

When I got back in my car the fuel gauge did not move any higher. I also noticed that I had only gone 277 miles since I last filled. I always fill the tank but it never takes more than 7 to 8 gallons regardless of low my gauge reads (or even if the light is flashing!)

I have an appointment tomorrow am at a Toyota dealership but don't want to pay for unecessary repairs and I also want to be knowledgeable.

Any ideas of what this could be? I have to drive about 50 miles this am should I try to put more fuel in after the drive?

Thanks so much!

I'm in line again for another Prius - but was hoping to keep this one for another two years. I'm definately a Prius snob and I've never been able to keep a car that long (I live in Detroit area so I get a lot of flak for owning a Toyota, too)
  2. JimboPalmer

JimboPalmer Nadir of Wrongness

Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius v wagon