1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

How to accelerate?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Fuel Economy' started by tangmu, Aug 29, 2009.

1. tangmu

tangmu Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I'm a newbie and have been reading a lot about how to accelerate from a standstill, and getting a little confused because there seem to be two different ways: one is to accelerate slowly, use as much electricity as possible to bring it up to 40-45. The other is: bring it up quickly to 40-45, the computer will calculate the most efficient gas consumption, then start gliding. Both seem to make sense, so could you share your experience?

2. efusco

efusco Moderator Emeritus
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Well, perhaps I'll confuse you even more. I don't accept either of the options listed.

1)Using electricity only is likely the very least efficient. The most power hungry aspect of driving the prius is accelerating and thus you want to use the most efficient method. The electricity you're using was generated by the ice, went through an inverter where it lost some of it's energy, stored in the battery where it lost a bit more, then back through another inverter where it loses even more, and finally to the wheels. The loses are relatively small, but still real and thus the least efficient.

2)Hard acceleration pushes the ice outside it's most efficent range (~1700-2300 rpm), and may even use battery power (see #1 above) to get you up to speed. Since there's direct power transfer from the ICE to the wheels it's probably a bit more efficient, and a lot more street friendly, than #1, but not the best choice.