1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Installing the mini vci program on laptop

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by greasemonkey007, May 23, 2014.

1. greasemonkey007

greasemonkey007 Active Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Can anyone help me figure out how to make this vci work with my laptop? I bought a new laptop with windows 8.1. I got the techstream program on there but when I plug into the car it asks for a registration key. I have not been able to get any kind of support from the seller that I can use in any way. Of course, I'm not the most computer literate person in the world, or even the elementary school I graduated from. Maybe I need some professional help. My wife has told me I've needed professional help for the 15 years we've been married. But I guess that's another thread.

Anyway, here's a copy of the instructions that were in a file on the cd.

Attached Files:

2. exstudent

exstudent Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
  3. Epiphany2000

Epiphany2000 Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    I was gathering my resources together to post a reply, but exstudent beat me to it ;)

If you're not technically savvy, don't even bother trying to install it on a 64-bit OS. You have Windows 8.1, which is almost assuredly 64-bit, but you can double check by right-clicking on "my computer" and selecting "properties". In the window that comes up, look for the "system type", which is in the "system" section. It will indicate whether you have a 64 or 32-bit OS.

It is possible to get the drivers installed in a 64-bit environment (by using the instructions that exstudent linked to), but it is not easy. I'm a computer person, and I couldn't get it to work. Like exstudent said, your best bet is an old laptop with Windows XP installed.