1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Looking to buy a 2007/2008. Need Advice

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by aubbus, Apr 21, 2010.

1. aubbus

aubbus New Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A

I am looking forward to buy a 2008 or 2009 Prius and I need your advice. I know for normal cars you look at certain stuff and say the car is ok before buying one. I am new to Hybrid. What are the stuffs I need to look out for when buying a used Prius?

1) Is it a better option to buy from a dealer than a private seller given that i am not sure how to validate or test battery and all those stuff associated with hybrids?

2) Is it OK if I buy from a private seller and check the car with a Toyota dealer? If so do you have some rough idea of how much that would cost?

3) What are the stuffs I need to look out for around the 60,000 mile range?

4) I have to travel a lot from my apt to school and work and hence i will be doing only highway miles (City to highway ratio would 5 : 95) Is Prius still a good option?

I would appreciate if you could shed any light on this.
    Thanks.

2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    i would go with a used corolla or camry. good hywy mileage, low cost, less to go wrong at 60K. good luck!

3. ystasino

ystasino Active Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Your headline says 07/08 while your text says 08/09. Not that there are major differences since the 06 models which introduced standard driver seat airbags and a better designed battery.

The first thing that goes bad in a Prius is usually the 12V battery. There are plenty of threads with errors, so I would suggest you find a store to measure that. It is the battery that initiates the computer and costs about $130. If it is in good condition it should give you a reading of 12.5 V or higher.