1. Offline

    desertcrawler Junior Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Posts:
    53
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Woodside, CA
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    So I got the fancy one with the advanced trim. I really like the NAV system, moving over from Garmin I think it is an improvement.

    I was poking around and figured out how to update the maps, it looks like it uses a USB. My maps were last updated in 06/11 -- I guess my NAV unit predates the build date for my car -- I was wondering if anyone knew what the current map versions were/are and what the policy is for getting updates -- does that happen for free or is there a charge? Owners manual is a little vague...
  2. Offline

    CharlesH CA HOV Decal #00005

    Member Since:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,234
    Likes Received:
    270
    Location:
    Milpitas, CA
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    The advanced package uses a hard drive rather than a DVD for the map info. I believe that the map updates are downloaded over the USB. And expect to pay big $$$ to get updates (I don't know how many hundred dollars the annual updates are).
  3. Offline

    ely105 New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Posts:
    111
    Likes Received:
    72
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Garmin usually does annual updates, not sure what Toyota does.

    Anyone update their map data in an earlier Prius? cost?
  4. Offline

    stacey ☆☆☆☆☆

    Member Since:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Posts:
    114
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Lancaster, PA
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    I updated my 2006 last summer and the DVD was about $200. It was the first time I updated and I only did it because I was doing a lot of out of state travel and I wanted to be as up to date as possible.
  5. Offline

    dragonfinder1 Junior Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Posts:
    76
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    oregon
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    I have lifetime map update for my Garmin 660, they say 4 times a year for updates, but I've been getting them about every 60 days or so.
  6. Offline

    desertcrawler Junior Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Posts:
    53
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Woodside, CA
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius Plug-in

    Does anyone with the new plug-in 2012 with advanced trim have more recent maps than June of 2011?
  7. Offline

    plugged-in Junior Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Posts:
    22
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    irvine
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    No. It's kind of messed up. I mean the car was just built last month, and they loaded outdated maps?!?! I live in a newer neighborhood built 1 year ago, and my address does not exist in the NAV. I hope Toyota gives us some free updates. The dealer did confirm it was via USB but also did not know how much. He thought it maybe free though. Someone from Toyota HQ would need to answer that.
  8. Offline

    lensovet Not your typical youngin :)/BP Brigade 207

    Member Since:
    May 23, 2009
    Posts:
    2,334
    Likes Received:
    360
    Location:
    Berkeley CA
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    From Toyota's promotional materials, my understanding is that the download happens using your phone. You connect your iPhone via USB, and it uses your phone's connection to download updated map data.
  9. Offline

    CharlesH CA HOV Decal #00005

    Member Since:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,234
    Likes Received:
    270
    Location:
    Milpitas, CA
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    Android phones can use Bluetooth instead of USB, can't they?
  10. Offline

    Kahuna69 New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Posts:
    42
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Arizona
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    I chose the base model simply because I just use my Galaxy Nexus for any navigation.
  11. Offline

    lensovet Not your typical youngin :)/BP Brigade 207

    Member Since:
    May 23, 2009
    Posts:
    2,334
    Likes Received:
    360
    Location:
    Berkeley CA
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Both android and iOS can use Bluetooth for audio but I think for communications both require a USB connection. Could be wrong though.
  12. Offline

    CharlesH CA HOV Decal #00005

    Member Since:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,234
    Likes Received:
    270
    Location:
    Milpitas, CA
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    On a Droid, I use Bluetooth for everything: the Audio Player, the phone, and the Entune media apps. My understanding with respect to the iPhone is that there are some issues with Apple's implementation of some of the Bluetooth profiles, and Toyota is having to come up with a workaround. Until then, it's the USB cable for the effected features.
  13. Offline

    etkal New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Posts:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Can you post a link to what specific promotional materials say this?

    Thanks!
  14. Offline

    moolman Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Posts:
    142
    Likes Received:
    14
    In the past, even for HD systems, you paid for the annual update. If you have the 6/11 map you have the latest version because the next version would be out 6/12 and it's 3/12 right now. With the DVD system you just swapped out the DVD, the USB system, you attach the USB and it updates and supposedly the USB thumb drive works once and deletes itself. I'm sure there is a work around but illegal obviously.
  15. Online

    john1701a Prius Guru

    Member Since:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Posts:
    7,636
    Likes Received:
    1,832
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    Mine worked well in the 2010 and does in the PHV now too.
    .
  16. Offline

    ryogajyc Active Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    983
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Reseda, CA
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    My Entune on my iPhone 4S connects to the Entune on the Prius Plug-in just fine over Bluetooth. The first time I ran Info/Apps and I had Entune open on my iPhone, it just automatically connected and started downloading an update. I do see that Toyota's website says that iPhone must connect over USB, but that seems to be out-of-date.
    1 people like this.
  17. Offline

    calbear Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Posts:
    180
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    N/A
    My base model PiP has full NAV... don't they all?
  18. Offline

    Tracksyde Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Posts:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    559
    Location:
    So Cal
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    I havent been able to connect my iPhone 4S to Entune over bluetooth. It always tells me it was unable to connect. When I use the USB cable, it connects fine. I've also tried using an iPhone 4 to no avail.

    Is your iPhone 4S on iOS 5.1? Both the 4S and 4 I've tried are on 5.0.1.

    Maybe its a difference between base and advanced. I havent seen any software updates over the phone when connected.
  19. Offline

    devprius /dev/geek

    Member Since:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    857
    Likes Received:
    215
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area, CA
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    I'm running iOS 5.1 and I have the same problem. I have to plug the phone into the USB port in order to access Entune features.

    I find that that I have to periodically "wakeup" the Entune app on the iPhone. I'll connect my phone and won't get an Internet connection unless I re-launch the Entune app, or select it from pop-up task bar. A minor annoyance.
  20. Offline

    tomkessler Junior Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Posts:
    28
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Campbell, CA
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Apple fixed a number of bluetooth profile issues in ios 5.1. I used to have significant problems with my iphone 4S dropping it's connection but they all seem to fixed now.

    The only issue I've seen is that very occasionally I need to restart the entune app. This seems to occur when I e.g. start pandora in my driveway when my phone is connected by wifi and then the entune app loses it's brains when it switches to the cellular network as I drive off.

    Older iphones may not have the correct bluetooth profiles as apple did a pretty significant upgrade of it's bluetooh with the iphone 4S so you have to check on a model by model basis.

Share This Page