1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Skid Control ECU error code

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by LeahAWSoda, Oct 5, 2014.

1. LeahAWSoda

LeahAWSoda New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    Hello!

I just bought a used 2008 Prius (my first hybrid), so this is my first attempt at using this website. Thank you to everyone who knows more about your Prius than I do.

I had my Prius inspected after buying it, and the error code C1378 appeared, which I have discerned refers to the Skid Control ECU. There is apparently a recall for this part in 2010-2014 models, however as a 2008 I don't think I apply.

I understand it's a really expensive fix ($2k), so I'm trying to figure out ways not to pay for a new one. I have a drive train warranty with the dealer I bought from, is there any way that this issue would be covered under that warranty? Again, this may be a stupid question, but since I'm new to hybrids I'm still figuring out what parts are connects to each other.

If not, I've read that an incorrect C1378 error code can occur if the voltage on the smaller 12v battery is down. Can anyone support this? Are there any other Prius issues that anyone is aware of that can result in a false error code reading?

Thanks so much for any and all help.

2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    congrats and welcome!(y) it's always worth checking you 12v health when the prius shows signs of a problem. it's easy to eliminate. take a voltage test in the morning before starting and driving the car. should be 12.4 or better. why not ask the dealer if it's covered? if it does turn out to be the edu, you can probably grab a salvage on the cheap.

LeahAWSoda likes this.
  3. Patrick Wong

Patrick Wong DIY Enthusiast

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two