1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

So how sturdy is that plastic plate under the Prius?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by Horsefeathers, May 10, 2014.

1. Horsefeathers

Horsefeathers Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I straddled a rather large turtle in the middle of the road today. It clunked under my car and made an awful racket. Turtle appeared to be ok-ish. How worried do I need to be about that plastic plate under my Prius? I pulled off to have a look, but all I could tell was that there were no obvious parts hanging out from under it. Should I have it put on a lift for examination or is it likely ok? I am still a Prius newbie and not sure what all that plastic piece that runs underneath the car is protecting, but if it's cracked or broken, I would guess a concern might be water getting where it shouldn't. Help me gauge my worry from probably-nothing to I'd-get-that-looked-at?

2. El Dobro

El Dobro A Member

Vehicle:
    Other Electric Vehicle
    Model:
    N/A
    The one under the engine? If it's not torn up, it should be fine.

3. Horsefeathers

Horsefeathers Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I guess I'm trying to gauge the likelihood that anything is torn up and whether or not I need to have it put on a lift for examination or if that plate underneath is super solid and likely to withstand a direct hit from a turtle. I can't really shimmy under there to have a good look, and I wouldn't really even know what I was looking at, anyway. This Prius is still pretty foreign to me in a lot of ways, so I may end up asking a lot of what turns out to be silly questions. Good thing I don't embarrass easily, I reckon.

4. El Dobro

El Dobro A Member

Vehicle:
    Other Electric Vehicle
    Model:
    N/A
    Unless it was this turtle, I wouldn't worry too much.

[​IMG]

Horsefeathers likes this.
  5. xliderider

xliderider Senior Member