1. Offline

    tleisher New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hey everyone,

    I bought a 2005 Prius with Touchscreen Navigation, and I got it to sync with my bluetooth phone (The T-Mobile G1).

    The bluetooth phone feature works great, but I want to be able to stream music that I loaded onto the phone.

    Is there a setting or something to enable this? I tried to pair it, and then just start playing music but the system didnt pick it up.
  2. Offline

    zenMachine Just another Onionhead

    Member Since:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Posts:
    3,354
    Likes Received:
    289
    Location:
    Texas
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2007 Prius
    The BT in Gen 2 Prius does not have A2DP. You'll need a device like below. And if your 2005 has an Aux in, you can connect this thing directly to the Aux port. If not, you can fall back to the FM Transmitter.

    BTW, the G1 has A2DP Bluetooth?

    http://www.amazon.com/Satechi-Bluetooth-Hands-free-Transmitter-supported/dp/B000NVYVRO
  3. Offline

    raholco Ailurophile

    Member Since:
    May 7, 2009
    Posts:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Yessir-G1 has A2DP.

    As an aside, I would not connect the G1's line-level output-somehow, HTC borked the audio section and its very noisy at low settings.
  4. Offline

    zenMachine Just another Onionhead

    Member Since:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Posts:
    3,354
    Likes Received:
    289
    Location:
    Texas
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2007 Prius
    I had the G1 when it first came out. I'm not sure if it had A2DP in the first version. (I wasn't too interested in A2DP back then anyway).

    I used to connect the G1 to the Prius Aux in using an adapter that plugs into the charger port for both charging and Aux out purposes. There were no sound issues at all.

    Does your 2005 have an Aux line-in port?
  5. Offline

    raholco Ailurophile

    Member Since:
    May 7, 2009
    Posts:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I have a 2009 and it does have an aux input.

    You're right, the initial Android 1.0 did not have A2DP-I think Cupcake (1.5) brought A2DP to the G1.
  6. Offline

    zenMachine Just another Onionhead

    Member Since:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Posts:
    3,354
    Likes Received:
    289
    Location:
    Texas
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2007 Prius
    Ah, OK. Thanks for that. I may get my G1 upgraded then.

    BTW, this is the charger/adapter I used with the G1 to play audio in the Prius:
    http://www.amazon.com/dp/product/B0011WDLES?tag=priuschatcom-20
  7. Offline

    DaveinOlyWA 3rd Time was Solariffic!!

    Member Since:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Posts:
    15,092
    Likes Received:
    590
    Location:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2013 Nissan LEAF
    Model:
    Persona
    plug it in to aux port. i tried BT streaming and the audio quality... was not desirable. i doubt if the phone or the car makes that much of a difference. wireless streaming of music was probably the issue.

    dont get me wrong, did sound good when it worked good, but had a lot of outside interference. moving the phone around helped a bit, but it seemed like i had to reposition too much. i got lazy since i have audio plugged into my i pod anyway
  8. Offline

    David Beale Senior Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    4,009
    Likes Received:
    549
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Warning! If you update the Android operating system you will loose phone connection to the car! They broke it in the first update, and now, five updates later, still haven't fixed it. Check out the android system Wiki. Lots of discussion on hacks to get it to work.
  9. Offline

    raholco Ailurophile

    Member Since:
    May 7, 2009
    Posts:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Your phone should have already been upgraded over the air-the current base code is 1.6 (Donut), but there's rumors that 2.0 is coming soon.
  10. Offline

    raholco Ailurophile

    Member Since:
    May 7, 2009
    Posts:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I have not had an issue with my G1 and the Prius-and I've been through all of the OS upgrades.

Share This Page