1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Troubleshooting a red triangle

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by saxteacher, Feb 9, 2014.

1. saxteacher

saxteacher Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hello - this is my first time posting a problem here. Thanks in advance for any advice you can give.

I have a 2008 Prius, with SKS and Nav, and 103,000 miles on the odometer. I bought it from the original owner in 2010. So far it has been trouble free, with just oil changes and scheduled maintenance.

When I turn power on, I get a red triangle with exclamation point. Also a row of yellow indicator lights. Also along the top of the LCD display there is a red car shape with an exclamation point on it.

I followed the procedure for checking the voltage of the 12v battery using the diagnostic screens, using the procedure at weird-stuff-happening-mpgs-dropping-test-the-battery.73400/
    and I got 11.8 volts.

Since it seemed likely that my problem is related to the (original OEM) 12v battery, which is now 6 years old, I took my handy jump-start battery thing (see photo below) and attached its red alligator clip to the positive post under the hood, and the black clip to the frame. I hoped that would allow me to start the car, but it did not start. The error lights on the dash were unchanged.

Question 1. Does the fact that the symptoms remain the same after I have connected my jump-start battery mean that the problem I'm having is NOT my 12v battery?

I then hooked up my cheap OBDII code scanner (see photo below) and checked for codes. It found none.

Question 2. Does the OBDII scanner not finding any codes have any importance? When people write about having their car towed to the dealer and having error codes read there, does that refer to OBDII codes, or are they referring to some other type of codes that can only be read by a dealer?