1. Offline

    ROLOPR Member

    Member Since:
    May 22, 2012
    Posts:
    413
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    When I was on the dealer doing the Prius C maintenence, while waiting I look for the 2013 Tacoma model.

    For my surprise the one with the standard radio has the Voice Command button, while the one with the Touch Screen radio NOT have such button.

    With the above mention, My Prius C have the Standard Radio and the spot for the Voice command.

    Two question came:

    1. Are the wiring from the steering wheel to the radio is build in so I can purchase only the VC button?
    2. Can the VC work on Standard Radios too?
  2. Offline

    ROLOPR Member

    Member Since:
    May 22, 2012
    Posts:
    413
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    Pictures are better than words about the topic

    Standard Radio with Voice Command:
    STD_HU.JPG

    Touch Screen without Voice Command:
    TS_HU.JPG

    Make sense on the Standard Radio?
  3. Offline

    Revan86 Animal nerd and alt car guy

    Member Since:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Posts:
    286
    Likes Received:
    84
    Location:
    All over northern IL
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Four
    Is that way different from the Prius c sold in the US. . . Not sure hopefully someone out your way will see this and be able to Enlighten us
  4. Offline

    cmstlist Member

    Member Since:
    May 28, 2012
    Posts:
    117
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    My 2012 CDN base model (C2 equivalent) has the standard radio and phone down/up buttons, but no voice command button.
  5. Offline

    ROLOPR Member

    Member Since:
    May 22, 2012
    Posts:
    413
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    Me too. I wonder if it is pre-wired so I only have to add the VC botton
  6. Offline

    wmo168 Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Posts:
    210
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    South Florida
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    Yes it is pre-wired and it use the same signal wire for phone on and off. You just need add the switch in the steering column.
  7. Offline

    DanMan New Member

    Member Since:
    May 9, 2013
    Posts:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Your Vehicle Year:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Guys guys guys......that's a picture of a Tacoma! Not a Prius. And OP, yes the touch screen does not have a voice command because that unit does not have navigation. It was way to cumbersome to use the manual controls without the touch screen for bluetooth, that's why they had it.

    It's likely a totally different radio than you have in your Prius, so comparing it isn't helpful.
  8. Offline

    ztanos All-around Geek!

    Member Since:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Posts:
    2,187
    Likes Received:
    635
    Location:
    Duluth, Georgia
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Four
    Gah, I'm an idiot... it says Toyota on the radio...

Share This Page