Voice command button for non touch screen HU

Discussion in 'Prius c Technical Discussion' started by ROLOPR, Sep 22, 2012.

  1. ROLOPR

    ROLOPR Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    441
    76
    Puerto Rico
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    When I was on the dealer doing the Prius C maintenence, while waiting I look for the 2013 Tacoma model.

    For my surprise the one with the standard radio has the Voice Command button, while the one with the Touch Screen radio NOT have such button.

    With the above mention, My Prius C have the Standard Radio and the spot for the Voice command.

    Two question came:

    1. Are the wiring from the steering wheel to the radio is build in so I can purchase only the VC button?
    2. Can the VC work on Standard Radios too?
     
  2. ROLOPR

    ROLOPR Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    441
    76
    Puerto Rico
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    Pictures are better than words about the topic

    Standard Radio with Voice Command:
    STD_HU.JPG

    Touch Screen without Voice Command:
    TS_HU.JPG

    Make sense on the Standard Radio?
     
  3. Revan86

    Revan86 Animal nerd and alt car guy

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    286
    84
    All over northern IL
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Four
    Is that way different from the Prius c sold in the US. . . Not sure hopefully someone out your way will see this and be able to Enlighten us
     
  4. cmstlist

    cmstlist Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    173
    38
    Toronto, ON
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    My 2012 CDN base model (C2 equivalent) has the standard radio and phone down/up buttons, but no voice command button.
     
  5. ROLOPR

    ROLOPR Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    441
    76
    Puerto Rico
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    Me too. I wonder if it is pre-wired so I only have to add the VC botton
     
  6. wmo168

    wmo168 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    226
    39
    South Florida
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    Yes it is pre-wired and it use the same signal wire for phone on and off. You just need add the switch in the steering column.
     
  7. DanMan

    DanMan Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    2
    0
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Guys guys guys......that's a picture of a Tacoma! Not a Prius. And OP, yes the touch screen does not have a voice command because that unit does not have navigation. It was way to cumbersome to use the manual controls without the touch screen for bluetooth, that's why they had it.

    It's likely a totally different radio than you have in your Prius, so comparing it isn't helpful.
     
  8. ztanos

    ztanos All-around Geek!

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    2,546
    763
    Duluth, Georgia
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Four
    Gah, I'm an idiot... it says Toyota on the radio...