1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

What kind of extension cord can be used for charging my 2017 Prius Prime?

Discussion in 'Prime Plug-in Charging' started by Joe Wall, Apr 29, 2024.

1. Joe Wall

Joe Wall Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    I just purchased a Prius Prime over the weekend. I'm a travel nurse so some places may not have a garage where I stay. I likely will need to extend the cord because it's long enough. I was looking in the owners manual but could have missed it. I saw what not to plug it into. Do I need a special extension cord?

2. RandyPete

RandyPete Member

Vehicle:
    2024 Prius Prime
    Model:
    XSE
    Toy instructs to not use an extension cord for that purpose. I would speculate this may be because most owners would use the cheap #16 or #14 extension cords that they have used for years for other applications. In time the extension cord end receptacle gets loosed and looser on the device cable plug prongs. This contributes to a higher resistance connection at that point, causing the cord end to heat up.
    I use a #12 AWG three copper wire extension cord to charge my new '24 PP. Its only about 25 ft long. For anything longer that that, I have and use a #10 AWG three copper wire extension cord, both cords help reduce voltage drop and wire heating along the length of the extension cord. I check the ends of the cord in use by touch, after being used for a full charge, feeling for hot plug body. This works for me. You will have to make your own assesment and do what is best for you. I would recommend a #10 3wire copper extension cord up to 50' long max. But do understand thet Toy does not recommend this.

3. Danno5060

Danno5060 Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    Short answer, If the cord is rated for it, there should be no problem. Most aren't.