06 gen2 Prius TPMS

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by w2co, Mar 31, 2021.

  1. w2co

    w2co Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    364
    79
    0
    Location:
    Longmont, CO.
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hello fellow prius owners, I own an 06' gen2 prius which has no problems @160,000 miles except now the right rear TPMS sensor is never reporting to the system. After some investigation, I found out someone ran over a curb and dinged that rim really hard. So I assume a hard shock to the rim can and will kill the TPMS sensor contained within.. My question is can I install an aftermarket "MX" sensor in that rim and program "clone" it with the old ID# that is obviously already stored in the TPMS controller? Yes all of them are due but the other three have no problems. So if this works, I will change them as they die. Sound ok?
     
    #1 w2co, Mar 31, 2021
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2021
  2. w2co

    w2co Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    364
    79
    0
    Location:
    Longmont, CO.
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    So does anyone have any experience with TPMS programmers out there? I have my eye on this one:
    Since I am not going to do any relearn mode stuff with the ECU's only program a new sensor with the old oem SN. BTW they transmit @ 315MHZ in the gen2 And probably will get 4 Autel MX Programmable sensors
     
  3. w2co

    w2co Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    364
    79
    0
    Location:
    Longmont, CO.
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Here's 4 programmable sensors
    Anyone ever try this?
     
    #3 w2co, Apr 1, 2021
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2021
  4. MilkyWay

    MilkyWay Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    805
    350
    23
    Location:
    MI
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Not sure but local tire shop around here is $80 per sensor installed if I remember correctly
     
  5. mr_guy_mann

    mr_guy_mann Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    1,213
    502
    0
    Location:
    NJ-USA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    I have used the Autel MX sensors on Toyotas without problem. Just copy the hex ID number off the old sensor when you program it. Use the tool to ping the sensors and find the dead one- I can never remember Toyota's sensor numbering- and you can't know if the wheels were ever moved around. ie, how do you "know" that it's the RR sensor that is bad? Almost everyone else goes LF-RF-RR-LR (1-4), but not Toyots. .

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
    #5 mr_guy_mann, Apr 3, 2021
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2021
Loading...