11.6 screen remains black after car is on (maybe cold weather related)

Discussion in 'Prime Audio, Electronics, and Infotainment' started by luiset83, Dec 27, 2017.

  1. Tideland Prius

    Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    37,794
    9,018
    40
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hmm, this means it's not the screen issue but a software issue. That gives hope that perhaps a future software update can resolve this issue.

    I would report it (just so that Toyota has a record of it) and just mention that it's not readily/easily reproducible.
     
    luiset83 likes this.
  2. ct89

    ct89 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    323
    259
    1
    Location:
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Something is clearly not working correctly...Whether it is software or hardware isn't clear...Yes, the physical screen appears OK when displaying the camera but any number of other things could be impacting the normal usage and you really need to get Toyota to fix it.

    Even if it is temperature related, it is not working the way it should and needs to be fixed.
     
  3. luiset83

    luiset83 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    105
    45
    0
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    It actually happened again this morning, although I didn't capture it on video this time. I did drive the car for about 15 minutes without rebooting to see if the condition went away and engaged/disengaged the rear camera view but couldn't the normal screen to come back on its own until a restart once again.

    It was not cold today, however, at least 50 F. For now I sent an e-mail w/ details and the video to Toyota Customer Care, at least that way maybe they can forward it to the relevant engineering team (maybe).

    Toyota reference #180221-000319
     
  4. luiset83

    luiset83 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    105
    45
    0
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    I did not try that... I had seen the steps for going to service mode a while back, but forgot them, so didn't try it. If it happens again I'll remember that though, simple enough to try.
     
  5. AfRoDaN

    AfRoDaN New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2018
    1
    1
    0
    Location:
    Orange County California
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    I had that exact same problem with my prius prime. I finally took it to the dealership with a video I took of the screen going black (I had to record my cars boot up for about 2 weeks). I left my car over night and they told me that Toyota told them to replace the unit. I've had it replaced for about a month now and haven't had any issues. Hopefully that fixed the problem.
     
    luiset83 likes this.
  6. luiset83

    luiset83 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    105
    45
    0
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    It's happened maybe once or twice more, but never when I'm close enough to the dealership to drive it there. Rebooting the screen (holding Audio button down for 2 seconds) does work to fix the issue when it happens. I'll mention it when I go in for the 10k service and see if they do anything about it.
     
  7. mercat68

    mercat68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    204
    165
    0
    Location:
    Mount Airy, MD
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    The blank screen problem has afflicted my car. It happened after pulling up to the house. Neither restarting the car nor holding the audio button for a screen reboot is working. I’m not sure if there’s a connection, but before turning off the car, I (for unrelated reasons) reset the navigation settings to factory default (the last menu item, I believe, on the settings/navigation main menu). Is audio on/off button reset the only way to reset the screen? Or, is there some sort of physical reset method (e.g., paper clip in a hole)?
     
  8. mercat68

    mercat68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    204
    165
    0
    Location:
    Mount Airy, MD
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    Following up my own post. I took the car to the dealer today, and they diagnosed the problem as the "radio" going bad (by which, I assume, they mean the entire head unit). So, they have a new MFD on order and will replace it in a week or so. Effin' electronics...
     
    benagi and Tideland Prius like this.
  9. DavidA

    DavidA Prius owner since July 2009

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    1,867
    1,384
    18
    Location:
    Chicago western burbs
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    This all makes me think I should have finally popped for the extended warranty option.
     
  10. mercat68

    mercat68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    204
    165
    0
    Location:
    Mount Airy, MD
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    Just to update, the screen returned today entirely on its own, radio and all. I'm still planning to take the replacement unit. But the behavior's baffling - seems a software issue would be either on or off, right? So guessing this is a hardware issue?
     
  11. Tideland Prius

    Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    37,794
    9,018
    40
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Probably, especially if the soft reboot doesn't work (and I think that's just for software).
     
    mercat68 likes this.
  12. luiset83

    luiset83 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    105
    45
    0
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    It hasn't happened ever since the cold weather is gone here, so I think extreme cold is the trigger... maybe the excessive heat will trigger it as well... hasn't happened yet. On my old '04, the MFD developed a loose connection that caused the controls to not respond. Possible it's a similar issue in the 11" radio unit.
     
Loading...