1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

12 volt hack for Gen 1- Gen 3

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by Sharnold, Oct 23, 2019.

1. Sharnold

Sharnold Active Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    I've seen people that complain about the cost of replacement 12 volt batteries so I figured I'd post a quick hack I've been using for a few years. Pick you up a Econocraft 51RE from Autozone and new terminals as the prius ones are too small. I buy a pack of the standard post replacements. Then remove the ground wire and use a grinder to split and remove the factory pressed terminal off the wire then install the standard terminal to fit the negative post. And while you got the negative wire removed scuff that paint off the floor pan or inner trunk (newer gen models) with fine grit sandpaper before putting the bolt back in and spray with rust inhibitor for a better ground on your car. On the positive I remove the block terminal and replace it with a larger one for a standard battery terminal. And yes I know the prius batteries are vented but I've been running one in my prius for a few years and I've replaced many prius 12volt batteries the same way no issues. Hope this hack helps someone my cost with a commercial account for all parts is $89.64

Also this is on a Gen 1 and someone has rigged a wire on the terminal block that I'll be fixing as seen in picture with the fancy wire nut......... smh 20191023_172520.jpeg 20191023_173611.jpeg 20191023_175635.jpeg

Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.

Mavi likes this.
  2. MilkyWay

MilkyWay Active Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    II
    My mechanic just informed me of this trick the other day: "might need a battery, cheapest way is just to replace the terminals then any battery will fit"...Never done it but Walmart sells batteries for $50 and Toyota wants $180-$220 so may consider..

Sharnold likes this.
  3. Mavi