1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

12v drain and P0aa6 code

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Jesse Floyd, Feb 27, 2023.

1. Jesse Floyd

Jesse Floyd Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Hello all, I'm fairly new to PriusChat, I've been a lurker for awhile but never really posted anything.
    I have a 2005 Prius that I bought for 1k with a bad engine and battery pack. I used some cells I had lying around, refurbished the pack and replaced the engine. I used new nickel plated busbars and nuts for the connectors since the old ones were severely corroded. I replaced the 12v battery because I thought it was bad. Turns out, there is a massive drain on the 12v system and I'm completely unsure what it is. It seems that when the high voltage battery is unplugged from the car, the 12v stays fine and works beautifully. But when the high voltage battery is plugged in and the car is left overnight, the 12v drains to absolutely nothing. I also have the dreaded P0aa6 code with nothing but the 526 inf code. I am desperate to find out what is going on, any direction on things to try or where to look would be fantastic. I would be extremely grateful.

2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
  3. rjparker

rjparker Tu Humilde Sirviente

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    I would get rid of the hv battery isolation code first. 99% its something you did in your combined engine and hybrid battery swap.

Most likely pulling the orange disconnect is a red herring unless its the battery ecu magically shutting down as a result. You may be waiting longer and normal computer shutdowns have finally happened. Even opening the door or hatch wakes up some computers. Or you have determined the battery isolation fault is in the hv battery assembly.