1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

146k Mile 2005 Prius - General Help Please! (Oil, Plugs)

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by Atomo, Apr 26, 2020.

1. Atomo

Atomo New Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Hello all,

I'd LOVE some help or general opinions please! <3

Just last week I rescued a 2005 Prius from a local auction that had logged 146k original miles - the kicker was that the hybrid battery light came on and that is what seemed to force the old owners into giving it up. I'm SO excited to drive it soon, but I need some general advice since this is my first time owning a Prius or even a Toyota..

2 CELs were on in the car when I got it home - the first for the expected hybrid battery, but the second was an engine misfire. Additionally, the car seems to have only been driven about 3k miles the past year, after finding service records. Upon looking deeper at the condition of the engine, I noticed these things:

1) The car was on the "low oil" part of the dipstick, and smelled kinda strongly like gas. I pulled the Carfax and found the last owners changed the oil about 3,000 miles ago. Even if a car has barely been driven/sat for that long out of a year, is being about a 1qt low on oil for those numbers normal? Or normal-ish?

2) I dove into changing the spark plugs pretty quickly. When I pulled them, I found out they were somewhat covered in oil on the threads (enough to where I could wipe plenty onto my towel, but none was on the ignition coils). When I opened the hood though.. (and I'll attach a pic - and yes, the engine was that grimey when I got it) I found the ignition coil seal like this in the first picture. What?! Could this cause a misfire by itself, without even considering the oil? The plugs were black and carbon/oil fowled and I know pretty much - they haven't been changed until now.