1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2001 Prius brake and abs light with weird sounds

Discussion in 'Generation 1 Prius Discussion' started by Joseph O, Dec 2, 2014.

1. Joseph O

Joseph O Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2001 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hey everybody I'm completely new to hybrids so I have no idea whats going on here. I have a 2001 Toyota Prius with 146k miles and its been running very good until some weird things started happening during the past couple of months. When I start it up, the brake light and abs light come on along with a steady high-pitched noise and grinding noise (sounds like ice being scraped). While the lights are on and the sounds are being made, the brake becomes very soft/"spongy" and goes down to the ground without much force at all (It usually always does this when I start it up and sometimes - but not very often - when I'm driving). Sometimes it all goes off and everything is normal again after about 10 mins, sometimes all day, and sometimes only after a minute or two (It usually does it on a cold start, but sometimes even if the engine is heated up, it does it).

I had the brake pads & brake calibers replaced, new spark plugs put in, and checked all of the fluid levels (which were all fine) thinking that those things may have been the problem. After that, the sounds and lights stopped coming on and everything was normal for about a month, then the weird stuff came back again.

I took it to a Toyota dealer and they said it might be a part called a brake actuator that needs to be replaced. I've been trying to do research about this, but people with the same problem are being told to do different things or get different parts so I don't know what part I actually need to get or what I need to do about it.

Here are two videos of the weird occurrences; the first one is after a startup, the second one is while driving:

I appreciate any help in advance!

2. valde3