1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2001 Prius, Red Triangle, Check Engine Light, PS + Battery+Car red exclamation alert

Discussion in 'Generation 1 Prius Discussion' started by Brandon Doyle, Dec 29, 2015.

1. Brandon Doyle

Brandon Doyle New Member

Vehicle:
    2001 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hello Everyone,

I'm new to this thread. I have a toyota that I was driving yesterday. I parked my car on the side of the road for 2 minutes to find something in the car. Randomly after a minute of being parked the car suddenly flashed the red triangle on the dashboard as well as the check engine light.

Also as well on the main computer screen where the radio stations normally are displayed a Problem alert appeared. It shows the PS icon, the Battery Icon, and the Red Car exclamation icon. Only the Car Exclamation point is red. I attached pictures as a file below.

As some basic steps I tried (Because I don't know that much about cars) I opened the hood when the engine was off and cold and checked the air vent filter to see if it was clean. I cleaned just in case. I also check the gas cap to see that the cap was closed tightly. Also checked the tires air to see if that could be the case. Oil was looked at by me and I didnt see anything abnormal as well.

I read these forums and mostly I been reading that it's either a cooling pump issue or the battery. Also the temperature light is blue on the dashboard as you can see from the picture. Its been like that recently. It goes away after 2 minutes and I attribute that to the colder weather we been having.

Any advice will be appreciated. Thank you so much.

EDIT: I drove the car around a bit as a test and the car was a little sluggish when putting my foot on the gas pedal. Not all the time thought. Other than that the lights are on as normal and everything else appears and sounds normal except for these warning lights.

IMG_0088.JPG IMG_0089.JPG