1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2002 12 volt battery and warning light problems??

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by raven, Feb 10, 2006.

1. raven

raven New Member

I am new at this so I first posted this as a reply on the string and am now reposting as an inquiry:

Hi:

I am just joining this chat because I too have a 2002 Prius with about 16,000 miles and it has developed 12V battery problems. Several months ago the car would not start and someone recommended that I get a "trickle charger" that plugs into ordinary wall current and that seemed to fix the problem.

Then, two nights ago after driving fine (and filling the tank with gas during the trip), when I started it up again I got all three indicator lights on page 98 of the owner's manual ("PS"; battery picture with the word "main" under it ;and red and white car outline with an exclamation point in the middle) that scared the dickens out of me.

I was way out in the country so I drove it home (about 15 miles-largely down hill) . The service rep at the dealer told me on the phone that meant it had been running solely on the big battery and that the gasoline engine was not working (there as also an amber picture of the engine lit up on the dash) However, they couldn't get to it for awhile even if I drove it in or had it towed in.He suggested that I try using the trickle charger if I had one.

So I put the trickle charger on last night for about 16 hours and the car works fine again, no warning lights, no problems.

Any ideas about (1) what I should do, if anything, about 12V battery and (2) should I take it in to dealer for some kind of check after driving around with all those "take to your dealer as soon as possible" lights having been on?

I'd welcome anybody's ideas on this . Thanks

Raven

2. KTPhil

KTPhil Active Member