1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2003 Prius, 47F, 9 miles, 51.3 MPG indicated

Discussion in 'Generation 1 Prius Discussion' started by bwilson4web, Mar 20, 2014.

1. bwilson4web

bwilson4web BMW i3 and Model 3

Vehicle:
    2018 Tesla Model 3
    Model:
    Prime Plus

I needed to get some groceries early this morning, 4:00 AM, and walk the dogs. Before starting the engine, I cleared the "B" trip meter and reset the MPG display and drove to the all night grocery store about 4.5 miles away:
    • 45-50F - temperature range spot checked on the drive down and back. The highest was in the parking at the grocery store.
    • 9.0 miles, corrected to 9.5 - last summer, my GPS calibration constant came in at ~5.7% so I use 5% to be conservative
    • 51.3 MPG, corrected to 53.8 MPG real - I'm using over-sized front tires, which is a permanent over-drive
    Now I've been driving this 2003 Prius since October 2005 and do drive using a few tricks:
    1. split water-noodle lower grill block - when outside temperatures are under 75F, this lets the car warm-up sooner to reach hybrid operating mode.
    2. shift to "N" and 25 mph for the first mile - easy to do with no traffic, I only accelerate to 25 mph and then coast in "N" as much as possible.
    3. keep engine rpm under 2,400 rpm - I have instrumentation that allows me to monitor engine coolant temperature and engine rpm
    4. route that minimizes stops - this is specific to where I live but I can at 4:00 AM ignore one stop sign and use right-turn-on-red at the other intersections. With this cool weather, I'm at 70C within about 2 miles.