2005 P3000-388 after battery replaced

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by Jerry G., Oct 12, 2021.

  1. Jerry G.

    Jerry G. Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    67
    19
    0
    Location:
    Keaau, Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Hello All,
    Its been many years since I have requested advice from this wonderful forum. I have owned and bought/sold 10 Priuses, Gen 1 and 2, and successfully repaired them, including reconditioning the hybrid batteries. I am pretty familiar with all systems
    Here is a quick rundown of my issue:
    1) Bought Prius with 225k and a Hybrid battery that had bad cells here in Hawaii where I now live. Error said "Hybrid Battery Failling". Drove it 60 miles to my home where I removed the battery and proceeded to do a full balance and capacity check to the best of my ability using smart chargers. No cells have less that 4200Mah and all were ch/dch 3 times.
    2) Carefully reassembled the battery, having all clean busbars and applying Noco NCP2 to all connections to prevent corrosion (Used on previous batteries, High humidity area) and carefully checking all sensor tabs to make sure they did not break wire. Tightened down all nuts on busbars.
    3) Reinstalled battery into car, checked all connections, applied Noco NCP2 and inserted orange safety connector and snapped down pull tab.
    4) Took 4 tries to get car to start, display shows FULL battery and has 1/2 tank of gas. Says "Problem", Red triangle of death and red battery sign on top left of display. Techstream 13 keeps crashing every time I try running a battery diagnostic to check cells. Then, it stopped crashing and said cannot connect to ECU.
    What info I could get is the Hybrid battery failed and Hybrid battery needs replacing. Couldn't save the diagnostic file because it kept crashing. I'll have to get my old XP computer and try running an older version of Techstream that worked I guess. Win 10 must have an issue with Techstream 13 or XHorse MiniVC driver.

    Thoughts? Bad Battery ECU? Bad connection somewhere? What am I missing?

    Mahalo everyone :)
     
  2. mr_guy_mann

    mr_guy_mann Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    1,082
    449
    0
    Location:
    NJ-USA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Does your Techstream only have problems trying to connect to the battery ecu or is it with all ecu's on this car? P3000 is a code that says "hey, there's a problem in the battery ecu- go look there". You need those codes and data. Does the ICE start and run at this point? If you can't comm with anything then there could be a fault with the battery ecu or wiring, but I might expect the car to not do very much as that would disrupt the entire CAN network .

    Many here have an OBD2 bluetooth adapter for Dr Prius, Hybrid Assistant, Torque or other apps (as well as Techstream).

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
  3. TMR-JWAP

    TMR-JWAP Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    4,432
    4,712
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Techstream 13 keeps crashing every time I try running a battery diagnostic to check cells. Then, it stopped crashing and said cannot connect to ECU.

    If everything else works, then I suppose I would pop that ecu out and inspect it/replace it and go from there. Do you have a spare laying around?
     
  4. Jerry G.

    Jerry G. Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    67
    19
    0
    Location:
    Keaau, Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Hi All,
    Sorry Been travelling for a week now i'm back.

    OK, im going to pull the battery again tomorrow and re-check everything including clean the connector to the battery ECU. The car initially started the gas engine and ran, then coded saying "problem". What I could get out of Techstream was "replace hybrid battery". I'm going to try running the Techstream software in Win 7 compatibility mode to see if I can get it to run the diagnosis correctly.

    Odd that the display on the car shows a Full battery, yet says battery fault.
     
  5. Jerry G.

    Jerry G. Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    67
    19
    0
    Location:
    Keaau, Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Hi there,
    So I set the Prius aside for a while as my wife was moving over with me full time.

    Anyway, I pulled the battery again, pulled all the connections to the cells and checked all sensing wires, put everything back together and still having problems. All connections are spotless and clean. P3000-388, 389 still. ICE starts and runs, is normal for a bit then all of a sudden throws the Triangle and VSC lights and engine increases RPM but doesn't show charging battery. I managed to get a screenshot of the battery ECU and seems very strange that every other cell block reads 15.xx Vdc and the others read 19.xx Vdc. Is there such thing?? These are 8Vdc cells?

    The other day I ran the car 160 miles with no issue until I stopped at the store for 10 min, then as I was pulling out the triangle came up. I cleared the DTC to get home. The battery showed healthy the entire way and never showed less than 5 bars ever. Most the time it was green.

    I had a strange occurrence last time I used the car. I drove out of the driveway, triangle came on then power was jerkey. I stopped put the car in reverse and it wouldn't power reverse. Engine raced, then I put it in drive and barely got it to move, and with going in and out of drive was able to get it powered back home. POS!

    Wth??? Never had a Prius do this to me and I have 10 Gen1 & Gen2 rebuilds under my belt.

    Thanks for any insight.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. TMR-JWAP

    TMR-JWAP Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    4,432
    4,712
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Between the block voltages (very consistently jacked up) and the 100% SOC, have you tried just replacing the HV battery ecu? They're widely available on ebay for a few bucks. Get the 092 model, I think it's the most recent revision.
     
  7. Jerry G.

    Jerry G. Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    67
    19
    0
    Location:
    Keaau, Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Ok thanks TMR,

    I just ordered a sensor harness to rule that out and was looking at Ebay for a ECU too. So the "092" is the model number or version? How would I find that?

    Thank You!!
     
  8. TMR-JWAP

    TMR-JWAP Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    4,432
    4,712
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    There were several Toyota part number changes between 2004 and 2009. All they did was change the last 2 digits of the part number to show updates. They're all essentially interchangeable, but I believe the 89890-47092 is the latest revision. If you were to purchase one directly from Toyo, for any 2004-2009, the -47092 is what they would give you.

    All you need to do is search "89890-47092"
     
Loading...