1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2005 Prius Alarm Won't Stay Off

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by KatLady109, Jun 26, 2021.

Tags:
  1. KatLady109

KatLady109 New Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hello! Noob here. Been lurking the threads for a couple of months but some of them pertaining to this issue never had updates, or all of the things listed haven't helped.

I bought a 2005 Prius in March, and the alarm keeps going off randomly. She's got about 270k miles and has a regular service history. I have tried troubleshooting with many of the things listed & it seems the only solution I can find is pulling the horn fuse. The lights will still flash & it has actually burnt out a bulb.

I have replaced the fob battery twice, I've open/shut all of the doors, hood, and hatch. The batteries of the car itself is fine & according to CarFax, they have all been replaced within the last two years. I know it is not fob related because it will happen even with the batteries out and/or if the fob is far away.

I had initially noticed that it happened more after I filled the tires. I thought it was due to something with those & they needed replaced anyway, so I got new tires. No change. They checked the bearings, brakes, and shoes. I noticed it was happening more when the temp was around or below 60F & rainy. It's now 80 and dry most days, and it's still happening. I have no idea what is setting it off so much.

One thing is, it's at its worst at night. But, it will still have bad days where it won't stop going off in broad daylight.

The door actuators seem to be fine. I have sat in the car with the fob & waited for the locks to switch. It's gone off with me inside of it before, but it's only been once. I guess maybe I'm not sure exactly how to tell if the actuators are working...? But it has sounded fine, like they're having no issue locking.