1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2005 vs 2006 audio aux in possibilities

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by castlecain, Dec 2, 2005.

1. castlecain

castlecain Junior Member

Last night, while at Mark Jacobson Toyota in Durham NC where I purchased
    my 2005 package 4, I asked the parts man to pull the 2006 parts diagram and
    show me the aux input location (it's in the rear of the center console) and the
    cable and part number and how I might order it later and retrofit my 2005.

First of all, I know all about all the third party interfaces that let you use RDS
    data to control an XM Radio Tuner or Ipod using the mfd and steering wheel
    controls. I am not convinced they are being priced at what I should agree to pay
    YET.
    I am a tech and I realize that R&D has to be paid for but I only REALLY NEED an
    aux input for my XM Radio. Actually leaving my little Roady II in view all the time
    with the information on the screen is a good option for me. I would like to be able
    to use the MFD later, but not at the prices I see for the interfaces at this point in
    their development. Leaving the Roady II screen available at a glance has it's advantages.

So, I looked at the diagram and we looked at the connector (S30) part number 82824-21030 (may be plug only, no cable). It is a 4 pin plug that goes into the
    rear of the Radio. Now, I don't know, since I have never seen a real block
    diagram of my radio (Standard AM FM single CD player), if my radio has the
    same plug as this 2006 Prius has. I do believe the one we were looking at had the
    cd changer. But here is the question to some of you who may have looked at
    this problem more carefully:

I don't care about the MFD, I want at this time only to have an AUX input to
    my standard radio to take the output of my Roady II. I detest the modulator