1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2006 Prius, Error Codes C1241, C1256, C1391

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Tyrutu, Apr 9, 2019.

1. Tyrutu

Tyrutu New Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hello! So I have been following this website for a while ever since getting my 2006 Prius just about 2 years ago. I'm am currently running into an issue regarding the ABS, VSC, and (!) lights. My braking system seems to be malfunctioning (the regenerative portion of it anyways-- the braking is "weak" which seems to suggest that the regenerative braking technology is disabled). Ever since these dash lights have come on about two weeks ago, I haven't driven the car at all, but have turned it on every few days just to top up the batteries and such. I am a full-time student and live really close to campus so it hasn't been TOO much of an issue since I can just bike everywhere, though it is definitely a nuisance, and come potential internships could pose a big problem.

I downloaded/installed Techstream (ver. 14.00.018) today and read my codes with a compatible J2534 OBDII-to-USB connector and was able to get the C1241, C1256, and C1391 out of the ABS/VSC/TRAC ECUs. I saved some freeze-frame data from Techstream associated with the C1242 and C1256 readouts which I have attached below (photos). I also saved out the freeze-frame data in a .TSE file but honestly, am new to Techstream and don't really know how to view this file's information (seems to be encrypted Notepad). I can e-mail it or whatever if it helps and provides insight additional to what it provided by the photos.

I'm wondering if anybody has had similar issues or has any additional insight into how I could go about solving this problem? Thanks so much! 20190408_213616.jpg 20190408_213709.jpg 20190408_213831.jpg

2. dolj

dolj Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A