1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2006 Prius touch up paint cost.

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by r619, Nov 19, 2013.

1. r619

r619 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Hello,
    I am a newbie here and really like the feedbacks from Prius owners. I have finally decided to buy a Prius. I don't have a big budget. Being a student I can only afford around $6000 now. I have read some posts here and saw people recommending to buy 2004+. I am looking everywhere for a good deal. But it is so hard to find a 2nd gen Prius under 100,000 miles for $6000. I have found one in another state which is like 700 miles (one way) drive for me. But it is a 2006 black base Prius at 79000 miles for $7000, which I think is a pretty slick deal. But it has some scratches. I asked the owner to send me some pictures of the scratches and these are the pictures he sent me. Do you guys have any idea how much will it cost to touch up the scratches. If it costs too much that would be a deal breaker for me. I already have to drive over 1500 miles to get the car and also have to pay for the pre purchase inspection. So it won't be deal anymore if I have to spend lot of money on the touch up. Do you guys think the price is good for the car? Please help out a wannabe Prius owner here : ) IMG_4577.JPG IMG_4578.JPG IMG_4579.JPG IMG_4580.JPG

2. Patrick Wong

Patrick Wong DIY Enthusiast

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    You know what: since you are a student who can only afford $6K or thereabouts, I suggest that you not worry about cosmetic issues like scratches in the paint. Black as a color choice is especially bad because it will show every tiny scratch and ding not to mention larger flaws as shown in your photos.

You probably would have to pay a high three or low four digit amount for professional repainting.