1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2007 Prius, Hv Battery issues after replacing 12 volt

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by RC-Pilot232, Feb 5, 2017.

1. RC-Pilot232

RC-Pilot232 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    II
    my first post & I have a car that powers up, but won't move.
    I have been working on cars for more then 40 years, but this is my 1st hybrid.
    I bought this 2007 Prius in November & noticed that the lights were dim pre-start up. I had a busy Nov. - Dec. but
    I did check the 12v voltage and it was holding 10 volts. Car off, that's not good. So I replaced the 12 volt battery last night with an Optima 46B24R. I used a 12v 7amh gel cell attached to the jump start terminal to hold memory, work door locks, etc... I had the key fob disable button pushed in too.

There were no shorts or sparks of any kind, at any point.
    I know how to work with high voltage having tied in 3 phase 208 ac hundreds of times.

Since I had the rear floor out & saw no evidence that the HV battery had ever been serviced. I pulled the rear seat and deck over the HV batt. I wanted to check its voltage. I did watch a youtube video on Sat. on replacing it.
    So I pulled the orange safety plug. And took off the two left side cover plates, to get access to the relays. I took off
    the plastic covers & checked with the meter to see if one side was grounded to the car. It is not. Then I put the orange plug back in and checked the voltage, 218.4 volts. Better then I expected Maybe some of my low gas mileage was do to a bad 12 volt battery?