1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2007 Prius Inverter Issue

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Mastacommanda, Jun 26, 2021.

1. Mastacommanda

Mastacommanda New Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hello everyone! I have been stalking Prius Chat since 2017 when I got my first 2005 Prius, but I just now decided to officially join!

I'm hoping that someone can help me out. I currently have a 2007 Prius that recently Red Triangle of Death'd on me. Took it to the shop and after spending ~$600 on towing, diagnostics, and a new 12v battery, I ended up with a P09A4 - 555 Code from the dealership. They wanted ~$5k to replace. No thank you.

I got a replacement inverter from a junkyard and swapped it out. when I powered it on and tried to start it up, I still have the Red Triangle of Death. I plugged in my OBDII scanner, but there are no codes to be read.

A few details that might be useful:

-The inverter coolant pump went out on me back in late 2019, but I replaced that and have had no issues with the Prius up until now.
    -When the Red Triangle of Death originally turned on for me about a week ago, it was while I was quickly accelerating. When this happened, the car went into a semi usable state and I was able to park it. After that, it would power on and drive for a small amount of time. I tried to get it to the dealership while it was in this state, but I assume the main battery lost all it's juice and it completely shut down on me (accelerator wouldn't do anything and it would only go into Park and Neutral).

Does anybody have any suggestions on what might be the problem, or does anybody know of a reliable source where I can purchase Toyota Techstream & a VCI cable combo?