1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2007 Prius: To Fix or Not to Fix

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Road Tunes, Sep 13, 2021.

Tags:
  1. Road Tunes

Road Tunes Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Hi! I’m a newbie with a 2007 Gen 2, bought for $1K from a family member 2 years ago. It was great shape with maintenance all done like clockwork. Everything was wonderful…until it wasn’t.

I have now read things I wish I knew from the start, alas. I’ve had a nightmare of a summer of repairs, and I’m at a crossroads. I’m on a low (no?) budget, to be real.

As a newbie, I’d like to spell out the issues and get advice. Is there a preferred format, or just do my best to sum things up with mileage, problems & repairs to date?

It’s a bit daunting to dive in here with years of posts. I’ve tried searching for answers, but there’s just so much already shared.

Thank you!

2. JC91006

JC91006 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Once you replace the failed parts with NEW PARTS, that car will be really reliable.

What you will have problems with is if you go with a low budget repair and use old parts, that will cost you headaches and more money in the long run

3. Road Tunes

Road Tunes Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Truth! Already took that wise advice! I will type up a history soon.

4. JohnPrius3005

JohnPrius3005 Active Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    II