1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2008 inverter coolant pump

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Ninajanell, May 9, 2017.

1. Ninajanell

Ninajanell New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    I'm new to this but I just bought my 2008 prius with 122000 miles on it and about a week of having it the warning light and check engine light came on. Drive to the nearest AutoZone ( 20 miles away) the car was driving fine the whole way there and back. Code was for inverter coolant pump performance. The lights turned off the next day. Happened again a week later but lights turned off a few hours later. Happened not even a week later again took it into the Toyota dealer in town no codes popped up except for fuel run out. They erased the code but lights turned back on again 2 hours later. Then a couple days later the lights turned on and then off the next day. The lights just turned on, car drives perfect, a.c. works amazing! Anyone know if it's bad wiring or fuse? I know nothing about the prius.

2. JC91006

JC91006 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Your inverter pump has failed. Next time the warning light comes on, check if the ac still works. When the failure occurs, it often disables the ac cooling.

Also check your oil level as the car will use oil. Add as needed

SM-N900P ?

3. Ninajanell

Ninajanell New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    The a.c. is working and has been working the whole time. Oil is full and has not needed to be topped off. Toyota said that the fuel run out light could trigger the other lights on. The car is running perfect just lights keep coming on.

4. andrewclaus

andrewclaus Active Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius