1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2008 Prius Engine Light Code Help?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by KBru, Sep 12, 2014.

1. KBru

KBru New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hi guys! This is my first time in the forum so please forgive me if I'm doing anything wrong here or repeating any threads. I have a 2008 Prius that I purchased used last year. It has just shy of 139,000 miles on it. Recently the check engine light came on, and I dropped by AutoZone to have them pull the codes. They are as follows:
    C1241
    P1121
    P3193

I haven't been able to find a full explanation of the codes online, so I figured asking here would be the best route. I need to know what they mean, how much it would cost to fix, and how urgent the repair is. I will be going on a 5 1/2 hour road trip next week, so I want to make sure I'm not going to break my car (or myself!) by doing so with the engine light on.

Thanks so much!!

2. rjparker

rjparker Tu Humilde Sirviente

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    I did a quick search on the forum:

ABS:
    "C1241 (too low or too high battery volts)"

"Code p1121 which is the water coolant valve. P1121 is one of those codes (particularly in the summer) you can ignore until your financial situation improves."

"P3193, ... a out of gas DTC"

This is the Prius v station wagon forum, you want to be in GEN II forum (where the moderator will probably move this to shortly). I would also suggest you put your location in your profile so it's possible to recommend a qualified independent mechanic or trusted dealer.