1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2008 Prius hit curb pretty hard, wheel/suspension damage

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by InMooseWeTrust, Jul 20, 2015.

1. InMooseWeTrust

InMooseWeTrust New Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    II
    That happened. At first, I thought I just broke my wheel and busted my tire. I went to a body shop nearby and paid to get a new wheel and tire. It was driving like shit so I went to Sears Auto to get an alignment. I work as a delivery driver and I have a 3 year unlimited alignments deal with them. They said they couldn't align because the suspension was damaged on the front right side. I need a new lower control arm, ball joint, and possibly a sway bar end link (they're not sure yet).

Sears Auto estimates the parts and repair combined to be around $700. The body shop where I got the wheel is estimating over $300 for parts and $260 for labor. I don't know them too well but they have good reviews.

I already spent almost $400 getting a new wheel and tire. How do I go about filing an insurance claim with State Farm? I don't know anything about cars, and I'm not sure I'll get the full amount since I already did some work on it (the replaced wheel).

I'm thinking about getting a check and going somewhere on my own. I know I can buy the parts online, but any way I can save more money? Insurance is the one thing here I don't know much about.

Rough estimate of internet prices:
    Control arm: $60
    Ball joint: $40
    Sway bar end link: $20? unsure

#1 InMooseWeTrust, Jul 20, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2015
  2. JC91006

JC91006 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Just submit a damage claim

3. InMooseWeTrust

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I have a $500 deductible. Will I have to pay another $500 out of pocket since I already replaced the wheel?

4. JC91006